Event

Science in Motion #1 – Power Electronics

A series of events on selected research topics at FH JOANNEUM

 

Science in Motion is a series of events organized by FH JOANNEUM. Researchers present their projects and provide insights into the infrastructure. It all starts with the JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center in Kapfenberg. On October 15th, 2018, there will be an opportunity to closely observe research into high-efficiency power electronics.

Following our motto Science in Motion, FH JOANNEUM will present its latest research results as part of a series of events. Our laboratories open their doors and the researchers report on their work. The kick off of the series entitled Science in Motion is on October 15th, 2018: The JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center will be presented. After the official welcome, the visitors can expect keynote speeches and a panel discussion on the subject of power electronics. Our research partners are also represented. A network meeting afterwards forms the supporting program.

Research Topic: Power Electronics

High-efficiency energy conversion and innovative power electronics for the future. The JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center (JPEC) conducts research into minimising the energy loss between power station and wall sockets by means of ultra compact power electronics components with the aim of increasing the efficiency of electricity transmission. Electrical energy undergoes many conversions from production to wall sockets, and each time energy is lost. Losses from these conversions have been continually reduced in the last decades, but they still amount to a high percentage of global electricity consumption.

The JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center has been concentrating on a comprehensive optimisation approach in relation to topologies, filters, advanced packaging and the associated dynamic controls on the basis of a combination of high-performance microprocessors and configurable logic. The design of a highly efficient driver chip for transistors should finally complement the approach to comprehensive circuit optimisation.

Tip:

Further information: JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center.

Event

Science in Motion #1 – Power Electronics

Eine Veranstaltungsreihe zu ausgewählten Forschungsschwerpunkten der FH JOANNEUM

 

Science in Motion ist eine Veranstaltungsreihe der FH JOANNEUM, bei der Forscherinnen und Forscher ihre Projekte präsentieren und Einblicke in ihre Labore ermöglichen. Den Anfang macht das JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center in Kapfenberg. Am 15. Oktober 2018 gibt es die Möglichkeit, die Forschung an hocheffizienter Leistungselektronik aus der Nähe zu betrachten.

Wissenschaft zum Angreifen: Unserem Motto Science in Motion folgend werden an der FH JOANNEUM im Rahmen einer Veranstaltungsreihe neuester Forschungsergebnisse präsentiert. Unsere Labore öffnen dafür ihre Tore und die Forscherinnen und Forscher berichten von ihrer Arbeit. Den Anfang macht das JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center, das am 15. Oktober 2018 vorgestellt wird. Nach der offiziellen Begrüßung erwarten die Besucherinnen und Besucher Impulsvorträge und eine Podiumsdiskussion zum Thema Power Electronics. Auch unsere Forschungspartner sind dabei vertreten. Ein Netzwerktreffen im Anschluss bildet das Rahmenprogramm.

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Power Electronics

Hocheffiziente Energieumwandlung und innovative Leistungselektronik für die Zukunft: Im JOANNEUM Power Electronic Center (JPEC) wird daran geforscht, den Energieverlust zwischen Kraftwerk und Steckdose mittels ultrakompakten Leistungselektronikkomponenten zu minimieren und so die Effizienz und Wirtschaftlichkeit des Stromtransports zu steigern. Von der Erzeugung bis zur Steckdose wird elektrische Energie vielfachen Umwandlungen unterzogen, und jedes Mal geht dabei Energie verloren. Die Verluste dieser Umwandlungen konnten in den letzten Jahrzehnten zwar kontinuierlich verringert werden, sie belaufen sich in Summe aber nach wie vor auf einen beträchtlichen Prozentsatz des weltweiten Stromverbrauchs.

Das JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center beschäftigt sich intensiv mit einem umfassenden Optimierungsansatz in Bezug auf Topologien, Filter, „Advanced Packaging“ und den zugehörigen dynamischen Regelungen auf Basis einer Kombination aus leistungsstarken Mikroprozessoren und konfigurierbarer Logik. Das Design eines hocheffizienten Treiberchips für Transistoren ergänzt den Ansatz zur umfassenden Schaltungsoptimierung.

Tipp:

Weitere Informationen zum JOANNEUM Power Electronics Center und dem Forschungsvorhaben finden Sie hier.