Language levels and standards

Learn languages with (the right) class!

Sprachniveaus und -standards 6

The “Common European Framework of Reference for Languages” (CEFR) helps to standardise different course levels and support you in your choice of course. There are a total of six levels: A1, A2, B1, B2, C1 and C2. These levels are further divided into two sub-levels (A1/1, A1/2, A2/1, etc.). At CAMPUS LinguaNEUM A1 and A2 are elementary levels; B1 and B2 intermediate levels; and C1 and C2 advanced levels.

The CERF was designed to provide a transparent, coherent and comprehensive basis for the elaboration of language syllabuses and curriculum guidelines, the design of teaching and learning materials, and the assessment of foreign language proficiency. It is used in Europe but also in other continents.

The CEFR describes comprehensively what competence language learners have at a certain level and what communicative situations they can handle. In this way you can measure your learning progress throughout your life and at each level.

I cnduo't bvleiee taht I culod aulaclty uesdtannrd waht I was rdnaieg. Unisg the icndeblire pweor of the hmuan mnid, aocdcrnig to rseecrah at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno't mttaer in waht oderr the lterets in a wrod are, the olny irpoamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the rhgit pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it whoutit a pboerlm. Tihs is bucseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey ltteer by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Aaznmig, huh?


Course structure of our semester courses

In the language courses at CAMPUS LinguaNEUM, we pay special attention to the needs of the different target groups.

For language learners with previous knowledge from school or comparable course systems, our "Advanced level courses" are particularly suitable. In the first two semesters, these courses concentrate on repeating and consolidating the language structures. In the last two semesters, we focus on developing communication skills in a professional environment. This structure is available for the Romance languages French, Italian and Spanish. For BKS (Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian) we offer courses for speakers with a family language background in the advanced level. These are particularly suitable for language learners with** (previous) family language knowledge** who want to become aware of the language structures and develop their reading and writing skills.

For participants with no previous knowledge, our "general language courses" are suitable.

You can find detailed course descriptions at themenu item "Course Programme".

If you have any questions about our course structure and/or placement in general, we will be happy to advise you by phone, in person or by e-mail! In the following slider you will find an overview of the course structures of the semester courses of CAMPUS LinguaNEUM:

Image source: © Council of Europe