University of Applied Sciences Board


The FH JOANNEUM University of Applied Sciences Board established in 2007 is responsible for all procedural and organisational matters relating to teaching and examinations.

The University of Applied Sciences Board performs its duties according to Sec. 10 (3) of the Austrian University of Applied Sciences Studies Act (FHStG) as amended and safeguards the autonomy of the university.


The FHStG specifies the following duties for the University of Applied Sciences Board:

  • Electing the head and deputy head on the basis of a proposal of three candidates made by the provider. Subject to approval by the Board, this proposal can be reduced to two persons;
  • Submitting an application to the provider to dismiss the head or deputy head or submitting an opinion on such an intention on the part of the provider in case these bodies have grossly violated or neglected their duties or are no longer able to fulfil their duties;
  • Modifying the accredited degree programmes in consultation with the provider;
  • Establishing or terminating degree programmes or courses for further education in consultation with the provider;
  • Submitting motions on the budget (capital, non-personnel and personnel expenditure) to the provider;
  • Submitting proposals for the appointment and dismissal of teaching and research staff to the provider;
  • Coordinating teaching content;
  • Evaluating all teaching operations, including examination regulations and curricula;
  • Awarding and revoking academic degrees, deciding on the nostrification of foreign degrees as well as awarding, in consultation with the provider, academic honours common in the university system;
  • Adopting rules of procedure and a statute in consultation with the provider. The statute shall, as a minimum, include the study and examination regulations, rules for the election of the Board, the establishment of working groups, if any, and their statutes, measures aimed at gender equality, provisions for the advancement of women as well as guidelines for the appropriate use of designations used in the university system and for the award of academic honours. The statute shall be published in a suitable format;
  • Deciding on complaints lodged against decisions taken by the head of degree programme.


The University of Applied Sciences Board established pursuant to Sec. 10 (2) of the Universities of Applied Sciences Studies Act (FHStG) includes the Head of the Board, his/her Deputy, representatives from the heads of degree programmes, representatives from the teaching and research staff and student representatives.

Head of the Board

  • DI Dr. Uwe Trattnig

Representatives from the heads of degree programmes:

  • Dr. Eva-Maria Adamer-König
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. phil. Karl Stocker
  • DI Dr. Robert Mischak, MPH
  • FH-Prof. Priv.-Doz. DI Dr. Christian Vogel
  • FH-Prof. Mag. Dr. Sonja Gögele, MBA MSc
  • FH-Prof. Mag. Dr. Doris Kiendl

Representatives from the teaching and research staff:

  • Eva Goldgruber, BEd, MA
  • FH-Prof. Mag. Dr. phil. Martin Johannes Gössl
  • DI Hagen Helge Hochrinner
  • DI Takashi Veikko Linzbichler
  • Mag. Dr. Andreas Thomasser
  • Mag. Martina Windisch-König

Four student representatives:

  • Marc Hörtler
  • Markus Leitgeb
  • Clemens Lukas
  • Christoph Oswald