Fields of Expertise

IT Security

 

With a Master's programme in IT & Mobile Security, IT security is a strong research focus at the Institute of Internet Technologies and Applications. Research topics include developing secure software, detecting security gaps in different mobile operating systems, creating mobile solutions for enterprises, as well as infrastructure availability and network security in industries such as aviation.

IT Security research focuses on:

  • mobile security
  • secure software design
  • security analysis
  • penetration testing
  • network security
  • secure server and high-availability technologies
  • big data
  • cryptography

Research activities are aimed at recording, linking, manipulating and evaluating sensitive data which could cause failures in private and public infrastructures. The focus is on digitisation and remote operation based on a quick security assessment. This is achieved by developing prototypes with validation functions which are used to analyse special data types for mobile access to the sensitive data.

The implementation of IT security issues is based on a security scan developed by the Institute. This is a tool used to provide initial checks of company IT infrastructure. Companies link to a special server at FH JOANNEUM via a tablet or mobile phone and the server then runs a check to detect any security flaws in the company's network. A variety of tools are used to identify and log any open ports and active services. The identified services are checked for vulnerability to a list of known security threats. The list is updated daily.

IT-Security

 

IT-Sicherheit ist ein durch den Master-Studiengang IT & Mobile Security stark ausgeprägter Forschungsschwerpunkt am Institut Internet-Technologien und -Anwendungen. Die Fragestellungen reichen von der sicheren Software-Entwicklung über Sicherheitslücken von unterschiedlichen mobilen Betriebssystemen und mobilen Lösungen für Unternehmungen bis hin zur Infrastrukturverfügbarkeit und Netzwerksicherheit in unterschiedlichen Branchen, wie etwa in der Luftfahrt.

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt IT-Security beschäftigt sich mit:

  • Mobile Security
  • Secure Software Design
  • Security Analysis
  • Penetration Testing
  • Netzwerksicherheit
  • sichere Server- und Hochverfügbarkeitstechnologien
  • Big Data
  • Kryptographie

Ziel der Forschungsaktivitäten ist die Erfassung, Verknüpfung, Manipulation und Beurteilung von sensiblen Daten, die beim Versagen von privaten und öffentlichen Infrastrukturen eine Rolle spielen könnten. Diese sollen anhand einer raschen Sicherheitsbeurteilung digitalisiert und mobil bedienbar gemacht werden. Die praktische Umsetzung erfolgt durch entwickelte Prototypen, welche Validierungsfunktionen zur Analyse von speziellen Datentypen für mobilen Zugriff auf die sensiblen Daten haben.

Die praktische Umsetzung von IT-Security-Fragestellungen basiert auf einem am Institut entwickelten Security Scan: ein Werkzeug für die Erstüberprüfung der IT-Infrastruktur von Unternehmen. Über eine Anfrage mittels Tablet oder Handy an einen speziellen Server der FH JOANNEUM ist es möglich, Schwachstellen im eigenen Unternehmensnetzwerk aufzudecken. Verschiedene Tools werden eingesetzt, um offene Ports sowie laufende Dienste und Services zu identifizieren und zu protokollieren. Identifizierte Services werden gegen eine Liste bekannter Sicherheitslücken geprüft. Diese Liste wird täglich aktualisiert.