Research

Digital Finance Lab

 
Digital Finance Lab

The Digital Finance Lab is used to investigate innovative technologies and their potential application in the financial, banking and insurance sector, to develop business models and processes and to create innovative products. This involves the use of blockchain, robotic process automation, artificial intelligence and other technologies, and state-of-the-art equipment including an infrared eye tracker and a Refinitiv / Thomson Reuters terminal for financial market data.

The aim of the lab is to promote the innovative capacity of financial institutions such as banks, insurance companies and financial service providers, particularly those located in Styria. We achieve this by helping students and future employees in the region’s financial sector to acquire digital skills. The Digital Finance Lab is also a playground for start-ups, FinTechs and InsurTechs.

Robotic Process Automation

Fragmented finance systems and processes are the reason why many organisations are highly inefficient and forced to rely on manual processes and spreadsheet applications. This leads to additional costs, processing errors, wasted financial resources, greater internal control risks and the risk of generating inaccurate results. Robotic process automation (RPA) can be used to fully automate corporate processes across different software applications and media discontinuities by applying process analysis, digital maturity models and then implementing the consequent process optimisations.

Applications
  • Analysis of applications in banks & insurance companies
  • Bridging media discontinuities at interfaces to the core system
  • Account closure, master data management, KYC, etc.
  • Compliance, generation of regulation reports
  • Securities processing
  • Claims processing
  • Claims settlement

Blockchain & Smart Contract Network

  • Development of innovative business models based on blockchain technology
  • Fully-automated insurance
  • Decentralised processing for banking cooperation
  • Tokenisation of assets (shares, bonds, real estate, etc.)
  • Cryptocurrencies and ICOs
  • Implementation via blockchain network for research & development with smart contracts

Financial Market Research & Application

The Digital Finance Lab is equipped with a Refinitiv / Thomson Reuters terminal for global intraday financial market data and a ByteWorx portfolio simulation application. These data and applications allow us to conduct state-of-the-art forecasting and empirical financial market research.

Applications
  • Development of investment strategies
  • Optimisation of risk management approaches
  • Assessment of financial instruments
  • Portfolio management
  • Development of indices
  • Financial market research
  • Analysis of cryptoassets
Student projects

Using their own investment strategies, students at the Institute of Banking and Insurance Industry developed a real and tradable securities portfolio. The portfolio was then implemented as part of the Trading Desk project and published on the Wikifolio platform. Read more in the blog post

Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning

Artificial intelligence and machine learning are becoming increasingly important in business, primarily due to the availability of huge volumes of data, rapid growth in computing power and capacity, and greatly improved machine learning approaches and algorithms. The technologies investigated in our Digital Finance Lab open up a wide range of applications in the financial, banking and insurance industry.

Applications
  • Predictive data forecasting
  • Customer behaviour & purchase probability
  • Fraud protection
  • Digital financial coach / advisor
  • Credit risk assessment
  • Valuation models
  • Churn rate reduction
  • Individual insurance solutions and ecosystem development
  • Underwriting and risk assessment
  • and much more

Eye Tracking

Eye tracking is a method applied to visualise a person’s eye movement. It is used to evaluate interactive and mobile applications and interactive products.

It is a valuable tool for measuring in which sequence, and for how long, users look at different areas of a user interface. This identifies which elements users look at attentively and which they completely ignore. In our eye tracking studies we first help you to define specific areas of investigation, before determining whether eye tracking can provide the answers.

Eye tracking is particularly valuable when used in combination with classic usability tests. We use our eye tracker to record a test participant’s eye movements while they work on a typical task such as ordering a product. Our objective eye tracking data supplement the subjective views provided by the test participants. Both the qualitative and quantitative results are then evaluated by our experts.

Our lab houses facilities for testing information designs using eye tracking, laboratory analysis and optimisation.

Applications
  • Analysis of product documents
  • Customer journey optimisation
  • Analysis of customer communication, in particular risk communication and expectation management

Forschung

Digital Finance Lab

 
Digital Finance Lab

Im Digital Finance Lab werden innovative Technologien und deren Anwendbarkeit in der Finanz-, Bank- und Versicherungswirtschaft erforscht, Geschäftsmodelle und -prozesse entwickelt und Produktinnovationen erarbeitet. Blockchain, Robotic Process Automation, Artificial Intelligence und andere Technologien kommen dabei ebenso zur Anwendung wie ein Infrarot-Eyetracker und ein Refinitv / Thomson Reuters Terminal für Finanzmarkdaten.

Das Lab hat die Förderung der Innovationsfähigkeit von Financial Services wie Banken, Versicherungen oder Finanzdienstleistungen, insbesondere in der Region Steiermark zum Ziel. Im Zuge dessen unterstützen wir dir digitale Kompetenzbildung der Studierenden beziehungsweise von zukünftigen Mitarbeitenden in der regionalen Finanzwirtschaft. Das Digital Finance Lab ist zudem Playground für Start-ups, FinTechs und InsureTechs.

Robotic Process Automation

Fragmentierte Finanzsysteme und -prozesse führen dazu, dass viele Organisationen sehr ineffizient sind und sich auf manuelle Prozesse und Tabellenkalkulationen verlassen. Dies führt zu zusätzlichen Kosten, Verarbeitungsfehlern, finanzieller Verschwendung, erhöhten internen Kontrollrisiken und dem Risiko zu fehlerhaften Prozessergebnissen. Mittels Prozessanalysen, digitalen Reifegradmodellen und daraus abgeleiteten Prozessoptimierungen lassen sich unternehmensweit Prozesse trotz Medienbrüchen und über verschiedene Softwareapplikationen hinweg mittels Robotic Process Automation (RPA) vollständig automatisieren.

Anwendungsbeispiele
  • Analyse von Anwendungsbereichen in Banken & Versicherungen
  • Schnittstellenüberbrückung bei Medienbrüchen zum Core-System
  • Kontenschließungen, Stammdatenverwaltungen, KYC, etc.
  • Compliance, Generierung von Regulierungsberichten
  • Wertpapierabwicklung
  • Antragsverarbeitung
  • Schadenfallabwicklung

Blockchain & Smart Contract Network

  • Entwicklung innovativer Geschäftsmodelle auf Basis von Blockchain-Technologie
  • Vollautomatisierte Versicherungen
  • Decentral Processing for Banking Cooperations
  • Tokenization von Assets (Aktien, Anleihen, Immobilien, etc.)
  • Kryptowährungen und ICOs
  • Umsetzung via Blockchain Network zur Forschung & Entwicklung mit Smart Contracts

Financial Market Research & Application

Das digital Finance Lab verfügt über einen Refinitv / Thomson Reuters Terminal für weltweite Intraday-Finanzmarkdaten und eine Byteworx Portfoliosimulationsapplikation. Auf Basis dieser Daten und Applikationen sind wir in der Lage state-of-the-art Forcasting und empirische Finanzmarktforschung zu betreiben.

Anwendungsbeispiele
  • Entwicklung Investmentstrategien
  • Optimierung von Risikomanagementansätzen
  • Bewertung von Finanzinstrumenten
  • Portfoliomanagement
  • Entwicklung von Indizes
  • Finanzmarktforschung
  • Analysen von Krypto-Assets
Studierendenprojekte

Studierende des Institut Bank- und Versicherungswirtschafts entwickelten auf Basis eigener Investmentstrategien ein echtes und handelbares Wertpapierportfolio. Dieses wurde im Rahmen des Projekts „Trading Desk“ umgesetzt und auf der Plattform Wikifolio veröffentlicht. Lesen Sie mehr dazu im Blogbeitrag

Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning

Künstliche Intelligenz und maschinelles Lernen gewinnt in Unternehmen zunehmend an Bedeutung. In erster Linie durch die Verfügbarkeit immenser Datenmengen, durch die rapide steigende Rechenleistung und -kapazität von Computern sowie durch deutlich verbesserte maschinelle Lernansätze und Algorithmen. In der Finanz-, Bank- und Versicherungswirtschaft ergeben sich zahlreiche Anwendungsmöglichkeiten durch den Einsatz dieser Technologien, die wir in unserem Digital Finance Lab erforschen.

Anwendungsbeispiele
  • Predictive Data Forecasting
  • Kundenverhalten & Kaufwahrscheinlichkeiten
  • Fraud Protection
  • Digital Financial Coach / Advisor
  • Credit Risk Assessment
  • Valuation Models
  • Senkung der Churn-Rate
  • Individuelle Versicherungslösungen und Aufbau von Ökosystemen
  • Underwriting und Risikobewertung
  • u.v.m

Eyetracking

Als Eyetracking oder Blickbewegungsmessung bezeichnet man eine Methode, mit der der Blickverlauf einer Person sichtbar gemacht werden kann. Eyetracking eignet sich zur Evaluation interaktiver Anwendungen, mobiler Applikationen oder interaktiver Produkte.

Eyetracking ist ein wertvolles Werkzeug, um zu messen, in welcher Reihenfolge und wie lange Benutzerinnen und Benutzer auf Bereiche einer Benutzeroberfläche schauen. So lässt sich feststellen, welche Elemente Nutzerinnen und Nutzer aufmerksam betrachten und welche sie komplett übersehen. In unseren Eyetracking-Studien unterstützen wir Sie bei der Definition konkreter Fragestellungen und prüfen im Vorfeld, ob diese mit Eyetracking beantwortet werden können.

Eyetracking spielt seine Stärken vor allem in Kombination mit einem klassischen Usability-Test aus. Während die Testteilnehmenden eine typische Aufgabe wie beispielsweise die Bestellung eines Produkts bearbeiten, zeichnen wir mit unserem Eyetracker die Augenbewegung auf. Zusätzlich zu den Aussagen der Probandinnen und Probanden aus dem Usability-Test erheben wir so auch objektive Eyetracking-Daten. Sowohl die qualitativen als auch die quantitativen Ergebnisse werden von unseren Expertinnen und Experten ausgewertet.

In unserem Lab ermöglichen wir Messungen von Informationsdesigns anhand von Eyetracking, Laboranalysen und Optimierungen.

Anwendungsbeispiele
  • Analyse von Produktunterlagen
  • Customer Journey Optimierung
  • Analyse der Kundenkommunikation, insbesondere Risikokommunikation und Erwartungsmanagement