Laboratory

Smart Production Lab

 
Smart Production Lab

Not just learning, also doing – and in doing so helping domestic companies intensify their efforts to digitalize business processes. That is the motto behind one of Austria’s largest “Industry 4.0” teaching and research factories, the Smart Production Lab at FH JOANNEUM University of Applied Sciences in Kapfenberg, Austria.

The Smart Production Lab comprises a publicly accessible “Maker Space”, the so-called “Fab Lab” – for manufacturing prototypes, individual components and simple testing procedures. There is also an IT lab dedicated to data protection and security, and one of only two SAP “Next-Gen” labs in Austria.

The core purpose of the Smart Production Lab is to exemplify how to implement vertical and horizontal IT integration to digitally connect machines, systems and humans in an industrial environment. This ranges from delivery to production and the customer; from product design, planning and logistics to the final product and financial reporting. Key aspects of digital transformation are going to be implemented in applied research projects, together with industrial partners who have signed up to support the lab. The subjects being dealt with range from Internet of Things (IoT), Augmented Reality, Big Data, Additive Manufacturing and IT-Security. By integrating these topics in lectures with a “do-it-yourself” approach, students and graduates will benefit from being better prepared for working in the digital production facilities of the future and thereby help strengthen the position of the local economy.

Use Cases

Working groups at the Institute of Industrial Management at FH JOANNEUM have developed a total of 20 use cases that either have “advanced” or “research” status. The advanced level comprises solutions which are already being implemented in many large industrial companies, but are not yet widespread in medium-sized enterprises in Austria. These cases represent the primary development phase of the Smart Production Lab. The “research” level goes beyond the current state-of-the-art technology. It includes use cases which are even new to more progressive companies, and are going to be researched by the Institute of Industrial Management in the imminent to mid-term future.

All of our use cases have underlying research questions, targets and scientific contributions that have been devised and researched by the staff at our institute. Several cases such as Digital Purchasing, Potentials of Augmented Reality or Machine-IT Connectivity were already presented at the lab’s opening ceremony.

Cooperation Partners

The institute has managed to acquire over 20 companies as cooperation partners and/or sponsors in varying degrees of activity in terms of the scope and duration of their support. Some have contributed equipment and resources to build up R&D infrastructure in the lab, others are working on content at the University Campus in Kapfenberg and will continue to do so in the next few years. The scientific and technological content, as well as the infrastructure, can be kept up to date with the help of such cooperation partnerships. The following have contributed to the lab:

  • B&R
  • Codeflügel
  • EMCO
  • Evolaris
  • FACTORYMINER
  • Festo
  • Hoerbiger
  • Industrieinformatik
  • JAGGAER
  • Kellner&Kunz
  • Linde
  • Logicdata
  • NTS/CISCO
  • Pankl
  • RPD
  • SAP
  • Spectra GmbH & Co. KG
  • SSI Schäfer
  • Stadt Kapfenberg
  • voestalpine
  • Weitzer Parkett

Impressions

(German)

Labor

Smart Production Lab

 
Smart Production Lab

Nicht nur lernen, sondern auch machen und dadurch die Digitalisierungsbestrebungen heimischer Unternehmen zu intensivieren, ist die Devise einer der größten Industrie 4.0 Lehr- und Forschungsfabriken Österreichs – des Smart Production Lab der FH JOANNEUM.

Das Smart Production Lab umfasst einen öffentlich zugänglichen ‚Maker-Space‘ für Prototypen, Einzelstücke und einfaches Ausprobieren – das sogenannte FabLab, ein IT Security Lab, das sich der Datensicherheit verschrieben hat, sowie eines von zwei österreichischen SAP Next-Gen Labs.

Zentrales Thema des Smart Production Lab ist die Ausprägung der vertikalen und horizontalen IT-Integration zur digitalen Vernetzung von Maschinen, Systemen und den Menschen – von der Lieferung über die Produktion bis zur Kundin beziehungsweise zum Kunden oder vom Produktdesign über die Produktionsplanung und Logistik zum fertigen Produkt und dem Reporting. In angewandten Forschungsprojekten werden Schwerpunkte der digitalen Transformation anhand realer Unternehmensprozesse gemeinsam mit unterstützenden Industriepartnern realisiert. Dies umfasst Themenfelder wie Internet der Dinge (IoT), Augmented Reality, Big Data, Additive Manufacturing oder IT-Security, die durch Integration in die Lehre und das „Selbst-Machen“ an einem modernen kreativen Platz Absolventinnen und Absolventen auf die digitale Produktion der Zukunft besser vorbereiten und den Wirtschaftsstandort stärken.

Use Cases

Insgesamt entwickelten die Arbeitsgruppen des Instituts Industrial Management 20 Use Cases, die jeweils in einer der zwei Entwicklungsstufen „Advanced“ oder „Research“ ausgeprägt sind. Die Stufe „Advanced“ umfasst Lösungen, die in vielen großen Industrieunternehmen bereits eingesetzt werden, in österreichischen Mittelstandsunternehmen jedoch noch wenig Verbreitung finden. Sie stellen die erste Ausbaustufe im Smart Production Lab Kapfenberg dar. Die Stufe „Research“ geht über den Stand der Technik hinaus und inkludiert Use Cases, die auch für fortschrittliche Unternehmen neue Themen bedeuten, und vom Institut Industrial Management zukünftig erforscht werden.

Zu allen Use Cases wurden die zugrunde liegenden Forschungsfragen, Zielsetzungen sowie der Beitrag des Instituts ausgearbeitet. Einige der Use Cases, wie digitaler Einkauf, Potenziale von Augmented Reality oder Maschinenanbindung, wurden bereits bei der Eröffnungsfeier präsentiert.

Kooperationspartner

Im Rahmen des Projekts konnten bisher 20 Unternehmen als Kooperationspartner beziehungsweise Sponsoren in unterschiedlichen Intensitäten hinsichtlich Kooperationsumfang und -dauer akquiriert werden. Sie tragen einerseits mit Ressourcen zum Aufbau der F&E-Infrastruktur im Smart Production Lab bei, und arbeiten andererseits mit der Hochschule in Kapfenberg an inhaltlichen Schwerpunkten in den kommenden Jahren zusammen. Durch sie kann die Aktualität der betriebenen Inhalte sowie der vorhandenen Infrastruktur im Smart Production Lab sichergestellt werden:

  • B&R
  • Codeflügel
  • EMCO
  • Evolaris
  • FACTORYMINER
  • Festo
  • Hoerbiger
  • Industrieinformatik
  • JAGGAER
  • Kellner&Kunz
  • Linde
  • Logicdata
  • NTS/CISCO
  • Pankl
  • RPD
  • SAP
  • Spectra GmbH & Co. KG
  • SSI Schäfer
  • Stadt Kapfenberg
  • voestalpine
  • Weitzer Parkett

Eindrücke