Research

AtLAS

Athletes as Entrepreneurs

 
AtLAS 1

Athletes have an outstanding potential to become high-performing business men and women. In their sporting career, they acquire extraordinary skills that are also crucial to entrepreneurial success. The compact training of AtLAS offers athletes across Europe the chance to combine high-level sport and top-class entrepreneurship education.

The skills cultivated on any playing field serve Athletes professionally, beyond competitive sports. Thus they have high potential as Entrepreneurs, maybe higher than others. But such potential does not make an Entrepreneur yet. Under the slogan “Found-E successfully” we support Athletes in their development plan.

ATLAS project aims to develop a start-up training for elite athletes. We plan to develop a hands-on training programme for the Athletes who are planning to start their own business. Additionally, we would like to provide them the most current learning content in the field of Entrepreneurship adapted for the needs of Athletes with some very interesting benefits for our special target group.

The overall project objectives are:
  • To develop athletes’ entrepreneurial competences
  • To strengthen athletes’ knowledge about starting and running a business
  • To foster entrepreneurial spirit among European athletes and sport governing bodies
  • To connect the spheres of higher education and sport to foster dual career paths for athletes
  • To increase the number of well-prepared company creations and reduce enterprise death rates
Specific objectives are:
  • Identification of competences and knowledge gaps regarding entrepreneurship and starting a business.
  • Development/improvement of athletes’ competence profiles in the area of entrepreneurship according to the European Qualifications Framework
  • Strengthening of knowledge on starting a business by the tailor-made training programme, a mentoring programme and the STARTER guide book.
  • Setting up of a sustainable business model for future provision of entrepreneurship trainings after the project end and establishing a framework to embed the developed trainings in the dual career systems of European countries.
Project partners:
  • Aarhus University
  • Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • Olympic Committee Slovenia
  • University degli Studi di Torino
  • WUS Austria
  • TW1N

This project has been funded with support from the European Commission. This publication reflects the views only of the author, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.

Forschung

AtLAS

Athletes as Entrepreneurs

 
AtLAS 1

Sportlerinnen und Sportler haben ein herausragendes Potenzial, zu leistungsstarken Geschäftsleuten zu werden. In ihrer sportlichen Karriere erwerben sie außergewöhnliche Fähigkeiten, die auch für den unternehmerischen Erfolg entscheidend sind. Das kompakte Trainingsprogramm von AtLAS bietet Athletinnen und Athleten in ganz Europa die Chance, Spitzensport und hochkarätige Entrepreneurship-Ausbildung zu verbinden.

Die Fähigkeiten, die auf einem Spielfeld kultiviert werden, dienen Athletinnen und Athleten professionell über den Leistungssport hinaus. Damit haben sie ein hohes Potenzial als Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer, vielleicht höher als andere. Aber ein solches Potenzial macht noch keinen Unternehmer oder keine Unternehmerin. Unter dem Motto Erfolgreich gründen unterstützen wir Athletinnen und Athleten bei ihrem Entwicklungsvorhaben.

Das ATLAS-Projekt zielt darauf ab, ein praxisnahes Start-up-Training für Spitzensportlerinnen und Spitzensportler, die ihr eigenes Unternehmen gründen möchten, zu entwickeln. Zusätzlich werden aktuellste Lerninhalte im Bereich Entrepreneurship zur Verfügung gestellt, die an die Bedürfnisse von Athletinnen und Athleten angepasst sind, mit einigen sehr interessanten Vorteilen für die spezielle Zielgruppe.

Die allgemeinen Projektziele sind:
  • die unternehmerischen Kompetenzen der Athletinnen und Athleten zu entwickeln;
  • Stärkung des Wissens der Athletinnen und Athleten über die Gründung und Führung eines Unternehmens;
  • Förderung des Unternehmergeistes bei europäischen Athletinnen und Athleten und Sportverbänden;
  • Verbindung der Bereiche Hochschulbildung und Sport, um duale Karrierewege für Sportlerinnen und Sportler zu fördern;
  • die Anzahl der gut vorbereiteten Unternehmensgründungen zu erhöhen und die Sterberate von Unternehmen zu reduzieren.
Spezifische Ziele sind:
  • Identifizierung von Kompetenzen und Wissenslücken in Bezug auf Unternehmertum und Unternehmensgründungen;
  • Entwicklung und Verbesserung der Kompetenzprofile von Athletinnen und Athleten im Bereich Unternehmertum gemäß dem Europäischen Qualifikationsrahmen;
  • Stärkung des Wissens über Unternehmensgründung durch das maßgeschneiderte Trainingsprogramm, ein Mentorenprogramm und das STARTER-Ratgeberbuch;
  • Aufbau eines nachhaltigen Geschäftsmodells für die zukünftige Bereitstellung von Entrepreneurship-Trainings nach Projektende und Schaffung eines Rahmens zur Einbettung der entwickelten Trainings in die dualen Karrieresysteme der europäischen Länder.
Projektpartner
  • Aarhus University
  • Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • Olympic Committee Slovenia
  • University degli Studi di Torino
  • WUS Austria
  • TW1N

This project has been funded with support from the European Commission. This publication reflects the views only of the author, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.