Research

Peace Games

 

The Peace Games project aims to contribute to the development of citizenship, democratic and social competences by using the full potential of creativity through game-based learning in formal and informal learning.

Creativity stands at the core of this project as it is considered both as a way to acquire civic and social key competences, and as a competence to acquire and develop in itself via the use and the development of “self-made” games oriented toward Peace Education. Co-founded by the Erasmus+ Programme,

Peace Games aims at diffusing these competences in learners and at helping teachers to make good educational use of games. This is organised through the identification, assessment and support to the use of relevant games (online or in face-to-face) oriented to civic competences, intercultural communication and conflict transformation already existing and provide guidelines and advices for the development of new “self-made” games relevant for particular contexts.

Source Peace Games website

Project meeting to discuss the classification of selected games

On the 6 and 7th of December 2021 17 members from the Peace Games project met online (instead on-site, in Graz, Austria) to discuss the classification of 55 selected games that support learning and development of peace competences. The Peace Games project aims to contribute to the development of citizenship, democratic and social competences by using the full potential of creativity through game-based learning in formal and informal learning.

Next step of the project is piloting of these games with schools in different countries. The two-stage piloting will start early next year. Short piloting with the aim to discover different possible usage of games in schools will be followed by the deep piloting, scheduled later in the summer semester 2022. Please contact them if you want to teach about peace and participate in any stage of piloting. They are looking forward to talking to you and working with you on your game-based class activities.

Read here more about the project http://eiplab.eu/peace-games.

Project partners
  • Forum of European Regions for Research, Education and Training (France)
  • International Institute for Humanitarian Law (Italy)
  • Liceo Statale « G.D.Cassini » (Italy)
  • Ministry for Education and Employment (Malta)
  • Asociación cultural Da2 Trucados (Spain)
  • Universita Degli Studi di Modena e Reggio Emilia (Italy)
  • FH JOANNEUM (Austria)
  • Evangelische Schule Neuruppin (Germany)
  • Université Côte d’Azur (France)
Peace Games objectives

1) To explore, analyse and classify the available supply of peace-oriented games on the basis of their relevance to the most pertinent competence frameworks that are actually developed and tested internationally;

2) To identify, through a substantial mapping exercise based on the competence frameworks, existing gaps and engage the game developers community in the creation of new games addressing the identified gaps, also using existing sets of peace exercises that have not yet taken a game configuration;

3) To develop an online hub able to provide information, advice and support to education institutions and educators who are interested to use the potential of games to achieve learning outcomes in these competence areas and engage “indie game development communities” in the creation of new games;

4) To test and validate the use of the online hub and available games in ten pilot schools in five countries and, on a voluntary base, in other local communities and civil society organisations engaged in citizenship education;

5) To develop and validate a Guide on “How to use, adopt and adapt game-based learning in traditional education settings”;

6) To provide guidance and a collaborative context to individual learners who are already engaged in online and offline games and might discover the interest and life-relevance of peace-oriented games;

7) To draw lessons from the review and the online hub activities in order to feed the present education policy debate on citizenship and peace education.

Source Peace Games website

Forschung

Peace Games

 

Das Projekt Peace Games zielt darauf ab, zur Entwicklung staatsbürgerlicher, demokratischer und sozialer Kompetenzen beizutragen, indem das volle Potenzial der Kreativität durch spielbasiertes Lernen im Rahmen des formalen und informellen Lernprozesses genutzt wird.

Im Mittelpunkt des Projekts steht die Idee, bürgerliche und soziale Schlüsselkompetenzen durch die Nutzung von Spielen, die auf Friedenserziehung ausgerichtet sind, zu entwickeln. Zu diesem Zweck will Peace Games diese Kompetenzen bei Lernenden zu stärken und gleichzeitig Lehrkräften dabei helfen, Spiele pädagogisch sinnvoll zu nutzen. Dies geschieht durch die Identifizierung, Bewertung und Unterstützung des Einsatzes relevanter Spiele − online oder face-to-face −, die bereits auf staatbürgerliche Fähigkeiten, interkulturelle Kommunikation und Konflikttransformation ausgerichtet sind. Außerdem werden Leitlinien und Ratschläge für die Entwicklung neuer „selbstgemachter“ Spiele bereitgestellt, die für bestimmte Kontexte relevant sind.

Projekttreffen zur Klassifizierung ausgewählter Spiele

Im Dezember 2021 trafen sich 17 Mitglieder des Peace-Games-Projekts online (statt vor Ort in Graz, Österreich), um die Klassifizierung von 55 ausgewählten Spielen zu diskutieren, die das Lernen und die Entwicklung von Friedenskompetenzen unterstützen. Der Spielekatalog zum Download.

Der nächste Schritt des Projekts ist die Erprobung dieser Spiele in Schulen verschiedener Länder. Das zweistufige Pilotprojekt startete Anfang 2022. Auf einen kurzen Versuch, der verschiedene Einsatzmöglichkeiten von Spielen in Schulen aufzeigt, folgt eine ausführliche Erprobung. Die aus der ersten Pilotphase gezogenen Lehren wurden auf dem Peace-Games-Treffen im April 2022 berichtet und diskutiert, gefolgt von einer spezifischen Planung der Pilotphase und einem entsprechenden Zeitplan in jedem Partnerland − Italien, Frankreich, Deutschland, Malta und Österreich. Die Pilotierung der Spiele in allen Ländern wird bis Ende Oktober 2022 fortgesetzt.

Bitte kontaktieren Sie das Team, wenn Sie über Frieden unterrichten und an einer der Pilotphasen teilnehmen möchten. Sie freuen sich darauf, mit Ihnen zu sprechen und mit Ihnen an Ihren spielbasierten Unterrichtsaktivitäten zu arbeiten.

Lesen Sie hier mehr über das Projekt http://eiplab.eu/peace-games.

Projektpartner
  • Forum of European Regions for Research, Education and Training (France)
  • International Institute for Humanitarian Law (Italy)
  • Liceo Statale « G.D.Cassini » (Italy)
  • Ministry for Education and Employment (Malta)
  • Asociación cultural Da2 Trucados (Spain)
  • Universita Degli Studi di Modena e Reggio Emilia (Italy)
  • FH JOANNEUM (Austria)
  • Evangelische Schule Neuruppin (Germany)
  • Université Côte d’Azur (France)

Ziele des Projekts:

  1. Erforschung, Analyse und Klassifizierung des verfügbaren Angebots an friedensorientierten Spielen auf der Grundlage ihrer Relevanz für den Kompetenzrahmen, der derzeit international entwickelt und getestet wird.

  2. Identifizierung bestehender Lücken durch ein umfassendes Mapping auf der Grundlage des Kompetenzrahmen und Einbindung der Spieleentwickler:innen in die Entwicklung neuer Spiele, die sich mit den identifizierten Lücken befassen, auch unter Verwendung bestehender Friedensübungen, die noch nicht als Spiel gestaltet wurden.

  3. Entwicklung einer Online-Drehscheibe, die Bildungseinrichtungen und Pädagog:innen, welche daran interessiert sind, das Potenzial von Spielen zur Erreichung von Lernergebnissen in diesem Kompetenzbereich zu nutzen, mit Informationen, Ratschlägen und Unterstützung versorgt und Indie-Game-Entwicklergemeinschaften in die Entwicklung neuer Spiele einbindet.

  4. Erprobung und Validierung der Nutzung der Online-Drehscheibe und der verfügbaren Spiele in zehn Pilotschulen in fünf Ländern sowie auf freiwilliger Basis in anderen lokalen Gemeinschaften und Organisationen der Zivilgesellschaft, die sich für die staatsbürgerliche Erziehung einsetzen.

  5. Entwicklung und Validierung eines Leitfadens zum Thema Nutzung, Einführung und Anpassung von spielbasiertem Lernen in traditionellen Bildungsumgebungen.

  6. Einzelne Lernende, die sich bereits mit Online- und Offline-Spielen beschäftigen und das Interesse und die Lebensrelevanz friedensorientierter Spiele entdecken könnten, sollen angeleitet und in einen kooperativen Kontext gestellt werden.

  7. Es sollen Lehren aus der Überprüfung und den Online-Hub-Aktivitäten gezogen werden, um die aktuelle bildungspolitische Debatte über Staatsbürgerschaft und Friedenserziehung zu unterstützen.