Fields of Expertise

Eco-Innovative Design

 

Eco-innovative design research at the Institute of Product & Transportation Design examines the design of products and systems which combine ecological objectives and industrial process requirements to form a new and successful integrated concept.

In the face of new statutory requirements and growing demand from consumers, in future sustainability will be a key competitive factor for businesses wishing to be successful on the market over the long-term. Today in the USA alone, the market for goods and services designed for sustainable lifestyles is worth more than 290 billion dollars. (Source: www.lohas.com).

Design has a decisive influence on the sustainability of a product and entire product systems. Consequently, eco-innovative design research examines how ecological objectives and industrial process requirements can be combined to form a new and integrated concept. In cooperation with our partners from industry, we help design products which are both more environmentally-friendly and more competitive.

Forschungsschwerpunkt

Eco-Innovative Design

 

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt Eco-Innovative Design des Instituts Product & Transportation Design untersucht die Gestaltung von Produkten und Systemen, die ökologische Ziele und industrielle Prozessanforderungen zu einem neuen erfolgreichen Gesamtkonzept verbinden.

Nachhaltigkeit ist zukünftig einer der wichtigsten Wettbewerbsfaktoren für Unternehmen, wenn sie langfristig am Markt erfolgreich sein wollen, da nicht nur neue gesetzliche Auflagen, sondern auch eine wachsende Nachfrage bei den Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten entstehen. Allein in den USA konzentrieren sich heute schon mehr als 290 Milliarden Dollar an Waren und Dienstleistungen auf eine nachhaltige Lebensweise (Quelle: www.lohas.com).

Design hat einen entscheidenden Einfluss darauf, wie nachhaltig ein Produkt ist oder ganze Produktsysteme sind. Der Forschungsbereich Eco-Innovative Design untersucht daher, wie sich ökologische Ziele und industrielle Prozessanforderungen zu einem neuen Gesamtkonzept verbinden lassen. Gemeinsam mit unseren Kooperationspartnern aus der Industrie entwickeln wir Ideen für Produkte, die sowohl umweltfreundlicher als auch wettbewerbsfähiger sind.