Conference

Scientific Computing 2023

Modelling, Simulation, Tools and more

 
Scientific Computing 2023

On 12th of May 2023, the FH JOANNEUM in Graz will host its first research conference on “Scientific Computing 2023 - Modelling, Simulation, Tools and more”.

The conference is mainly aimed at young researchers from various relevant disciplines and domains with a focus on scientific computing or modelling and simulation. In addition, the conference is open to research within the scope of completed theses or theses still in progress.

Topics of the conference are:

Modelling and Simulation, e.g.::
* Equation-based modelling
* Finite Element Method (FEM) and Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD)
* Agent-based modelling (ABM)
Statistics und Machine Learning, e.g.:
* Multivariate statistical methods
* Supervised und unsupervised learning
* Reinforcement learning and dynamic game theory
Optimization, control and regulation, e.g.:
* Numerical and combinatorial optimization
* Stochastic and evolutionary optimization
* Optimization-based control
Computer-aided symbolic computation
Further topics from the field of Scientific Computing

Applications from all subject domains are welcome, as well as work on special algorithmic topics or the comparison of different tools and/or packages.

Submission:

There are two submission formats within the conference, addressing different stages of scientific research:

Lecture and Paper: Presentation of (at least largely) completed research work in an approx. 15-minute talk followed by a Q&A session and by a short technical article published in the conference proceedings which will be available electronically and in print (by submission; guideline: four to eight pages incl. all appendices).

Poster presentation or poster: Especially suitable for ongoing or early-stage research, the project and preliminary results are presented during a "poster session". For this purpose, a poster in A0 size is to be prepared, which (reduced to A4 size) will also be included in the conference proceedings. In addition, already completed research work which requires a practical demonstration can be presented during the "poster session".

The primary conference language is German; submissions are possible in English and German. Before submission of a paper or poster, the basic suitability of the contribution for the conference will be assessed/confirmed on the basis of an abstract to be submitted first.

Assessment:

The review process has two stages: First, the submitted abstract is assessed for its suitability for the conference. A positive evaluation leads to an invitation to submit the finished paper or poster. All papers and posters will be evaluated by a jury of experts in the course of a peer review. If the number of submissions is too high, the organizing committee reserves the right to reassign submissions for the format "oral presentation and paper" to the format "poster presentation".

Deadlines:
  • Call for Papers: estimated from April 2022 until December 2022
  • Submission deadline for the "lecture and paper" format: February 2023 (Decision of the expert jury: March 2023)
  • Submission deadline for the format "poster presentation": March 2023 (Decision of the expert jury: April 2023)
Participation fees:

90 EUR
‚early-bird‘ until 31.03.2023: 70 EUR

Tip:

Reduced participation fee for students and employees of co-organizers: 15 EUR (‚early-bird‘: 10 EUR)

Konferenz

Scientific Computing 2023

Modellbildung, Simulation, Werkzeuge und mehr.

 
Scientific Computing 2023

Am 12. Mai 2023 findet an der FH JOANNEUM in Graz erstmals die wissenschaftliche Konferenz „Scientific Computing 2023 – Modellbildung, Simulation, Werkzeuge und mehr“ statt.

Die Konferenz richtet sich insbesondere an Nachwuchswissenschaftler:innen aus unterschiedlichen fachrelevanten Disziplinen und Domänen mit einem Fokus auf Scientific Computing bzw. Modellbildung und Simulation. Die Konferenz ist auch für Forschungen im Rahmen von fertiggestellten oder sich noch in Arbeit befindenden Abschlussarbeiten offen.

Themen der Konferenz sind:

Modellbildung und Simulation, z.B.:

  • Gleichungsbasierte Modellierung
  • Finite-Elemente-Methode (FEM) und Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD)
  • Agentenbasierte Modellierung (ABM)

Statistik und Machine Learning, z.B.:

  • Multivariate statistische Methoden
  • Supervised und Unsupervised Learning
  • Reinforcement Learning und dynamische Spieltheorie

Optimierung, Steuerung und Regelung, z.B.:

  • Numerische und kombinatorische Optimierung
  • Stochastische und evolutionäre Optimierung
  • Optimierungsbasierte Steuerung und Regelung

Computergestütztes symbolisches Rechnen
Weitere Themen aus dem Bereich Scientific Computing

Dabei sind Anwendungen aus allen Fachdomänen ebenso willkommen wie Arbeiten zu speziellen algorithmischen Themen oder dem Vergleich von verschiedenen Werkzeugen und/oder Packages.

Einreichung:

Im Rahmen der Konferenz gibt es zwei Formate der Einreichung, die unterschiedliche Stadien der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit adressieren.

Vortrag und Paper: Vorstellung von (zumindest weitgehend) abgeschlossenen Forschungsarbeiten in einem ca. 15-minütigen Vortrag und nachfolgender Q&A-Session sowie durch einen kurzen Fachartikel, der in den elektronisch und gedruckt erhältlichen Proceedings veröffentlicht wird (nach Vorlage; Richtwert: vier bis acht Seiten inkl. aller Anhänge).

Postervorstellung bzw. Poster: Vor allem für laufende oder frühphasige Forschungsarbeiten eignet sich das Format einer Postervorstellung, in der das Vorhaben und vorläufige Ergebnisse während einer „Poster-Session“ präsentiert werden. Zu diesem Zweck ist ein Poster in Größe A0 zu erstellen, welches (auf Format A4 verkleinert) ebenfalls in die Proceedings aufgenommen wird. Zusätzlich können auch abgeschlossene Forschungsarbeiten im Rahmen der „Poster-Session“ präsentiert werden, für die eine praktische Demonstration zweckmäßig ist.

Die primäre Konferenzsprache ist Deutsch; Einreichungen sind auf Englisch und Deutsch möglich. Vor Übermittlung von Paper bzw. Poster wird anhand eines einzureichenden Abstracts die grundlegende Eignung für die Konferenz bewertet bzw. bestätigt.

Begutachtung:

Der Begutachtungsprozess ist zweistufig angelegt: Zunächst wird anhand des eingereichten Abstracts die prinzipielle Eignung für die Konferenz beurteilt. Eine positive Bewertung führt zur Einladung zur Einreichung des fertigen Papers bzw. Posters. Alle Papers bzw. Poster werden im Zuge eines Peer-Reviews von einer Fachjury evaluiert. Bei einer zu großen Zahl von Einreichungen behält es sich das Organisationskomitee vor, Einreichungen für das Format „Vortrag und Paper“ auf das Format „Postervorstellung bzw. Poster“ umzuwidmen.

Fristen:
  • Call for Abstracts: bis Dezember 2022
  • Einreichfrist für das Format „Vortrag und Paper“: Februar 2023 (Entscheidung der Fachjury: März 2023)
  • Einreichfrist für das Format „Postervorstellung bzw. Poster“: Mitte März 2023 (Entscheidung der Fachjury: April 2023)
Teilnahmegebühren:

90 EUR
‚early-bird‘ bis 31.03.2023: 70 EUR

Tipp:

Reduzierte Teilnahmegebühren (für Studierende und Angehörige von Co-Veranstaltern): 15 EUR (‚early-bird‘: 10 EUR)