InnovaT

Innovative Teaching Across Continents - Universities from Europe, Chile and Peru on an Expedition

 

InnovaT project aims to modernise Higher Education and enhance innovation in teaching & learning experiences by promoting the integration of new technologies in LA HEIs and equipping teachers and students with relevant skills for the digital transformation of HE and society worldwide.

It places a strong emphasis on the capacity building of teaching staff -to provide a life long learning impact to students, teachers should be well prepared first. The project will foster all along its implementation a multidisciplinary approach, encouraging teachers and students from different disciplines & faculties to participate.

Advances in ICTs are opening up new opportunities that impact teaching & learning (T&L) methods in Higher Education (HE). An increasing reliance on “blended models” combining elements of face to face & online modalities in different proportions is emerging, which subsequently have transformed the roles of teachers, students & universities.

Despite this wave of innovation over the last decade, many universities around the world are not yet ready for this change and not fully prepared for e-learning. For instance, traditional HE’s model in Latin America is still predominant: face to face learning represents 65% of its HE offer. InnovaT aims to modernise HE, enhancing innovation in T&L experiences by promoting the integration of new pedagogies and technologies in LA HEIs; equipping teachers and students with relevant skills for the digital transformation of HE and society worldwide.

Expected results & Impact envisaged:
  • Enhanced teaching capacities in innovative T&L pedagogies and digital skills by delivering training in blended model, combining face to face teacher training with MOOCs and E-learning;
  • Modernised technical infrastructure of LA HEIs by creating, equipping and putting in operation the InnovaT offices (Innovative Teaching offices): to offer state of art tools to develop digital learning content as well as counseling services on the topic of innovative T&L;
  • Increased HE-Enterprise cooperation and students learning experience by developing Pilot Classes with real projects with entrepreneurs, preparing the students for innovative thinking in “real life” contexts;
  • Greater awareness and reach of high-quality training material & publications by providing access to Open Educational Resources and E-Learning to the regional and international academic community;
  • Extended networks between Europe and Latin America, and among Latin American neighbor countries in the topic of teaching & learning innovation by organizing an open International E-Conference
Project Partners
  • FH JOANNEUM UNIVERSITY OF APPLIED SCIENCES
  • UNIVERSIDAD CARLOS III DE MADRID
  • STICHTING BREDA UNIVERSITY OF APPLIED SCIENCES
  • UNIVERSIDAD DE PIURA
  • UNIVERSIDAD CATOLICA SAN PABLO
  • UNIVERSIDAD DE LIMA
  • UNIVERSIDAD DE SANTIAGO DE CHILE
  • UNIVERSIDAD VINA DEL MAR
  • UNIVERSIDAD AUSTRAL DE CHILE
Photo: FH JOANNEUM
InnovaT Project Team @FH JOANNEUM

The European Commission support for the production of this publication does not constitute an endorsement of the contents which reflects the views only of the authors, and the Commission cannot be held responsi¬ble for any use which may be made of the information contained therein

InnovaT

Innovative Lehre quer durch Kontinente – Universitäten aus Europa, Chile und Peru auf Expedition

 

Das Projekt InnovaT zielt auf die Modernisierung der Hochschulbildung und auf die Förderung von innovativen Lehr- und Lernerfahrungen ab. Es soll die Integration neuer Technologien an lateinamerikanischen Hochschulen gefördert sowie Lehrende und Studierende mit relevanten Fähigkeiten für den digitalen Wandel von Hochschulen und Gesellschaft ausgestattet werden.

Großer Wert wird auf den Aufbau von Kapazitäten des Lehrpersonals gelegt. Denn um den Studierenden lebenslanges Lernen zu ermöglichen, sollten die Lehrenden zuerst gut vorbereitet sein. Das Projekt wird während der gesamten Umsetzung einen multidisziplinären Ansatz unterstützen, der Lehrende und Studierenden aus verschiedenen Disziplinen und Fakultäten zur Teilnahme ermutigt.

Die Fortschritte der ICT (Information & Communication Technology) eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten, die sich auf die Lehr- und Lernmethoden (Teaching & Learning - T&L) in der Hochschulbildung (HE) auswirken. Es zeichnet sich eine zunehmende Abhängigkeit von „Blended Models“ ab, die Elemente von Face-to-Face- und Online-Modalitäten in unterschiedlichen Anteilen kombinieren. In der Folge verändert sich die Rolle von den Lehrenden, Studierenden und Universitäten.

Trotz dieser Innovationswelle im letzten Jahrzehnt sind weltweit viele Universitäten noch nicht bereit für den digitalen Wandel und daher auch nicht vollständig auf E-Learning vorbereitet. So ist beispielsweise in Lateinamerika (LA) nach wie vor das traditionelle Hochschulmodel vorherrschend: Face-to-Face-Unterricht macht 65 Prozent ihres Hochschulangebots aus. InnovaT zielt darauf ab, die Hochschulen zu modernisieren und Innovationen im Bereich T&L-Erfahrungen zu steigern, indem die Integration neuer pädagogischer Ansätze und Technologien in LA-Hochschulen gefördert wird. So sollen Lehrende und Studierende mit relevanten Fähigkeiten für den globalen digitalen Wandel von Bildung und Gesellschaft ausgestattet werden.

Erwartete Ergebnisse & vorgesehene Auswirkungen:
  • Verbesserung der Lehrkapazitäten in innovativer T&L-Pädagogik sowie der digitalen Kompetenzen durch die Ausbildung im Bereich Blended Learning, das Face-to-Face-Unterricht mit MOOCs und E-Learning kombiniert;
  • Modernisierung der technischen Infrastruktur der LA-Hochschulen durch Einrichtung, Ausstattung und Inbetriebnahme der InnovaT-Büros (Innovative Lehrbüros): Bereitstellung modernster Instrumente zur Entwicklung digitaler Lerninhalte sowie Beratungsleistungen zu Themen innovativ Lehren und Lernen.
  • Verstärkte Zusammenarbeit zwischen Hochschulen und Unternehmen, um die Lernerfahrungen der Studierenden durch die Entwicklung von Pilotklassen mit realen Projekten in Unternehmern zu verbessern und Vorbereitung der Studierenden auf innovatives Denken in Bezug auf das reale Leben.
  • Stärkere Sensibilisierung und Reichweite von qualitativ hochwertigem Trainingsmaterial und Publikationen durch die Bereitstellung des Zugangs zu Open Educational Resources und zu E-Learning für die regionale und internationale akademische Gemeinschaft.
  • Erweiterte Netzwerke zwischen Europa und Lateinamerika sowie zwischen lateinamerikanischen Nachbarländern zum Thema T&L-Innovationen, durch die Organisation einer offenen internationalen E-Konferenz.
Projektpartner
  • FH JOANNEUM UNIVERSITY OF APPLIED SCIENCES
  • UNIVERSIDAD CARLOS III DE MADRID
  • STICHTING BREDA UNIVERSITY OF APPLIED SCIENCES
  • UNIVERSIDAD DE PIURA
  • UNIVERSIDAD CATOLICA SAN PABLO
  • UNIVERSIDAD DE LIMA
  • UNIVERSIDAD DE SANTIAGO DE CHILE
  • UNIVERSIDAD VINA DEL MAR
  • UNIVERSIDAD AUSTRAL DE CHILE
Foto: FH JOANNEUM
InnovaT Project Team @FH JOANNEUM

The European Commission support for the production of this publication does not constitute an endorsement of the contents which reflects the views only of the authors, and the Commission cannot be held responsi¬ble for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.