Project

joanneum racing graz

 

Since 2003, Automotive Engineering students at FH JOANNEUM have participated in the Formula Student engineering design competition as part of the “joanneum racing graz” project. Participation in the competition involves designing and building a racing car that meets all the relevant requirements within a one year period. Fellow students from other degree programmes are also part of the “joanneum weasels” racing team and are responsible for marketing and design etc.

Formula Student is an international engineering design competition in which engineering students are given a year to design and build a formula racing car that meets all the relevant requirements. The car has to make the grade not only in the various test drives on the race track but also “off-road” as it were in other areas such as in the Business Presentation or Cost Report categories. Each of the different areas is evaluated according to a point system and scores form part of an international ranking. The competition rules and all the requirements related to the car are documented in the SAE Rule Book 2015.

Since it was founded in 2003, “joanneum racing graz” has been among the largest student projects at FH JOANNEUM. The goal is successful participation in selected Formula Student competitions under the team name “joanneum weasels”.

Involving students from different year groups …

1st and 2nd semester students from the Master’s degree programme in Automotive Engineering are responsible for project management of “joanneum racing graz”. Many work packages are, however, also carried out by students from the Bachelor’s course. Other aspects are the focus of Bachelor’s or Master’s theses. Certain construction activities are carried out in relevant courses within the Automotive Engineering programme.

… and disciplines

Students from other degree programmes support the “joanneum racing graz” project in a range of areas such as electronics, manufacturing, design, PR, ergonomics etc. Led by Automotive Engineering students, fellow students from the Industrial Design, Information Design, Electronics & Technology Management, Production Technology & Organisation, Journalism & Public Relations, and Physiotherapy programmes are involved in the project.

Knowledge database for future teams

An Advisory Board takes care of pooling all the activities. The accumulated knowledge is saved in a knowledge database so that the teams, which due to the curriculum change every year, are always able to draw on the experience from previous years.

Successful 2015 season

The race track in Italy seems to have become something of a favourite with the “joanneum weasels”. After the overall victory in 2006 and a very good third place in 2013, the 2015 FH JOANNEUM team succeeded in achieving another overall victory in a Formula Student competition held at the Riccardo Paletti Circuit near Padua and thus finished the 2015 season in the top 10 of over 500 international Formula Student teams.

The students design and engineer a car for the competition.
Photo: FH JOANNEUM

Projekt

joanneum racing graz

 

Unter dem Dach des Vereins „joanneum racing graz“ nehmen Fahrzeugtechnik-Studierende seit 2003 am Konstrukteurwettbewerb der Formula Student teil. Dabei müssen sie innerhalb eines Jahres einen Formel-Rennwagen nach vorgegebenem Reglement entwerfen, konstruieren und bauen. Am Rennteam von „joanneum racing graz“ sind auch Studierende weiterer Studiengänge beteiligt, die für Marketing, Design und Co. Verantwortlich zeichnen.

Die Formula Student ist ein internationaler Konstruktionswettbewerb, bei dem Ingenieur-Studentinnen und Studenten innerhalb eines Jahres einen Formel-Rennwagen nach vorgegebenem Reglement entwerfen, konstruieren und bauen. Dieser Wagen muss sich auf der Rennstrecke bei diversen Fahrprüfungen bewähren, aber auch abseits der Piste in Disziplinen wie der Business Presentation oder dem Cost Report. Jede dieser Disziplinen wird nach einem vorgegebenen Punkteschema bewertet und fließt in ein internationales Ranking ein. Die Regeln des Wettbewerbs und die Anforderungen an das Auto sind im SAE-Regelhandbuch 2015 festgehalten.

joanneum racing graz gehört seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2003 zu den größten Projekten mit Studierendenbeteiligung an der FH JOANNEUM. Ziel ist die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an ausgewählten Formula-Student-Wettbewerben.

Große Parade anlässlich 10 Jahre joanneum racing graz im Jahr 2013
Jahrgangsübergreifend und interdisziplinär

Das Projektmanagement von joanneum racing graz obliegt Studierenden des Master-Studiengangs Fahrzeugtechnik im 1. und 2. Semester. Viele Arbeitspakete werden aber von Bachelor-Studierenden der Fahrzeugtechnik übernommen. Weiterreichende Arbeiten werden als Bakk- oder Master-Arbeiten durchgeführt. Ein Teil der konstruktiven Tätigkeiten wird in geeigneten Lehrveranstaltungen abgewickelt.

In Sachen Elektronik, Fertigung, Design, PR, Ergonomie etc. unterstützen Studierende aus weiteren Studiengängen das joanneum racing team. Unter der Leitung von Fahrzeugtechnik-Studierenden sind eingebunden: Industrial Design, Informationsdesign, Elektronik & Technologiemanagement, Produktionstechnik & Organisation, Journalismus & Public Relations sowie Physiotherapie.

Wissensdatenbank für kommende Teams

Ein Advisory Board kümmert sich um die Zusammenführung sämtlicher Aktivitäten. Das geschaffene Wissen wird in einer Wissensdatenbank abgelegt, sodass die Teams, die aufgrund des Studienplans jährlich wechseln, jeweils auf die gesammelten Erfahrungen der Vorjahre zurückgreifen können.

Erfolgreiche Saison 2015

Die Rennstrecke in Italien liegt den joanneum weasels im Blut: Nach dem Gesamtsieg 2006 und dem guten 3. Platz 2013 konnte auch das 2015er-Team der FH JOANNEUM am Riccardo Paletti Circuit in der Nähe von Padua den Gesamtsieg bei einem Formula-Student-Wettbewerb einfahren und damit die Saison 2015 unter den Top 10 von über 500 Formula-Student-Teams weltweit beschließen.

Tipp:

Es deutet alles darauf hin, dass es auch eine erfolgreiche Saison 2016 für joanneum racing graz wird. Der neue Bolide zeigt auf den Rennstrecken der Welt, was er kann. Die bisherigen Stationen der Reise waren erfolgreich: drei dritte Plätze „Overall“ im Mai in Michigan (USA), Anfang August in Spielberg (AUT) und jetzt in Hockenheim (GER). Nächster Halt, nach einem kurzen Boxenstopp in der Werkstatt: Japan.

Lesen Sie mehr