Project

SCALE – Smart Cities Advanced Learning

 
SCALE – Smart Cities Advanced Learning 7

Smart cities are the answer to the current challenges of urban development: growth, energy efficiency and climate adaptation. Mobility, infrastructural supply, but also the preservation and formation of ecological foundations are organized in smart cities with intelligent systems and innovative information technologies. They are the basis for numerous economic developments.

In cooperation with the Spanish Universidad de Valladolid, the University of Applied Sciences in Bielefeld, Germany and experts from all three countries, the Institute of Construction Design and Economics is developing an online platform for Smart City topics using an interdisciplinary approach. The platform will be included in the existing studies as a trainee program with up-to-date and innovative teaching content and will also be made available to those interested in continuing their education in this area.

Project Participants

The lead, that is the management, of the project consortium was assumed by the Università de Valladolid (UVA) in Spain. The consortium includes university partners as well as companies that work in the field of innovation and technology development.

  • Universidad de Valladolid (ES)
  • Fachhochschule des Mittelstands (FHM) GmbH in Bielefeld (D)
  • FH JOANNEUM, Institute of Construction Design and Economics (BBW), in Graz (A)
  • Premium Research SL
  • World University Services of the Mediterranean (WUSMED) in Girona (ES)
  • Energie Impuls OWL e.V. in Bielefeld (D)
  • Innovation Service Network GmbH (ISN) in Graz (A)

Summary

SCALE is a project that fulfils many aspects of an innovative university education:

  • Students meet experts from science, research, business and administration and learn from professionals
  • Representatives of science, research, business and cities work together to develop smart city-specific content
  • Students develop innovative and practice-oriented projects at the interface of sci-ence, research and economic implementation
  • Students work at interdisciplinary and international levels

Students work at interdisciplinary and international levels:

With the development of Smart City curricula and concepts for adequate teaching in university education, SCALE makes an innovative contribution to the European education system as well as to the improved cooperation of universities and their partner companies from research and industry. The implementation of the project in the three EU countries – Germany, Spain and Austria – also promotes networking of the European education and research landscape.

Projekt

SCALE – Smart Cities Advanced Learning

 
SCALE – Smart Cities Advanced Learning 7

Smart Cities sind die Antwort auf die aktuellen Herausforderungen der Stadtentwicklung: Wachstum, Energieeffizienz und Klimaanpassung. Die Organisation von Mobilität, infrastruktureller Versorgung, aber auch die Wahrung und Bildung ökologischer Grundlagen werden in Smart Cities mit intelligenten Systemen und innovativen Informationstechnologien organisiert. Sie sind Grundlage für vielfältige wirtschaftliche Entwicklungen.

Das Institut Bauplanung und Bauwirtschaft der FH JOANNEUM entwickelt in Kooperation mit der Universitát de Valladolid, der Fachhochschule des Mittelstands Bielefeld sowie mit Expertinnen und Experten aller drei Länder in einem interdisziplinären Ansatz eine Online-Plattform zu Smart-City-Themen. Diese wird einerseits mit zeitgemäßen und innovativen Lehrinhalten in die bestehende Ausbildung als Trainee-Programm aufgenommen und andererseits Fachinteressierten als Weiterbildung zur Verfügung gestellt.

Projektbeteiligte

Die Leitung des Projekt-Konsortiums übernimmt die Università de Valladolid (UVA) in Spanien. Am Konsortium beteiligt sind zum einen universitäre Partner, zum anderen Unternehmen, welche im Bereich Innovations- und Technologieentwicklung arbeiten.

  • Universidad de Valladolid, Fakultät für Informationswissenschaften (ES)
  • Fachhochschule des Mittelstands (FHM) GmbH in Bielefeld (D)
  • FH JOANNEUM, Institut Bauplanung und Bauwirtschaft, in Graz (A)
  • Premium Research SL (ES)
  • World University Services of the Mediterranean (WUSMED) in Girona (ES)
  • Energie Impuls OWL e.V. in Bielefeld (D)
  • Innovation Service Network GmbH (ISN) in Graz (A)

Resumée

SCALE ist ein Projekt, das viele Aspekte einer innovativen universitären Ausbildung erfüllt:

  • Studierende treffen auf Expertinnen und Experten aus Wissenschaft, Forschung, Wirtschaft und Verwaltung und lernen von der professionellen Ebene
  • Vertreterinnen und Vertreter von Wissenschaft, Forschung, Wirtschaft und Städten erarbeiten gemeinsam Smart-City-spezifische Lehrinhalte
  • Studierende erarbeiten innovative und praxisorientierte Projekte an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Forschung und wirtschaftlicher Umsetzung
  • Studierende arbeiten interdisziplinär und international

Mit der Erarbeitung von Smart-City-Lehrinhalten und Konzepten zur adäquaten Vermittlung in der universitären Ausbildung leistet SCALE einen innovativen Beitrag für das europäische Bildungssystem, aber auch für die verbesserte Zusammenarbeit von Universitäten und ihren Partnerunternehmen aus Forschung und Wirtschaft. Die Umsetzung des Projekts in den drei EU-Ländern Deutschland, Spanien und Österreich fördert darüber hinaus die beabsichtigte Vernetzung der europäischen Bildungs- und Forschungslandschaft.