Services

Intercultural Skills Certificate

 
Outgoing Studierende 4

At FH JOANNEUM we offer students many opportunities to acquire intercultural skills during their courses. The ISC is a certificate which testifies that you have acquired intercultural and language skills during the course of your studies, and acts as an additional qualification.

It’s high time to demonstrate your intercultural skills! Intercultural competence and an understanding of interculturalism are increasingly becoming key qualifications for future careers. Both signify confidence in your ability to move in different cultural and linguistic settings, to think inclusively, and to feel secure in the role of “being foreign”. Intercultural skills also include a solid level of fluency in foreign languages, a great talent for observation, and openness to people from different cultural backgrounds.

How do I get my ISC?

To be awarded the ISC from FH JOANNEUM you must be a student or exchange student at FH JOANNEUM and demonstrate skills in four areas of competence (KM1-KM4). These four competence modules are covering a wide range of skills in an intercultural context and should be completed during your studies at FH JOANNEUM. In order to complete all four competence modules in time, students should start to prepare for the ISC at the start of their studies. A checklist can be found at the end of this page.

Students can apply online for the ISC which will be issued by the International Relations Office within two weeks.

An overview of the competence modules:

Module 1 (KM1): Language fluency

Language fluency is an indispensable extra qualification in this era of globalisation, both during your studies as well as for your subsequent career. Students can choose between option 1 (good knowledge in two foreign languages) or option 2 (good knowledge in one foreign language and basic knowledge in two other foreign languages).

Option 1: Two foreign languages (Level C1 and B2)
Option 2: Three foreign languages (Level C1, A2, A2)

Required proof:
* Language certificate / Confirmation

Valid certificates / confirmations:
* International valid language certificates (e.g. TOEFL, IELTS, ÖSD), not older than 3 years
* OLS confirmation (for Erasmus students and trainees)
* Confirmation of FHJ language teachers
* Confirmation of the ISZ (Internationales Sprachzentrum)

FH JOANNEUM offers a wide variety of language courses. Courses are also offered in German as a foreign language (DaF) for students whose mother tongue is not German. You’ll find the current course programme here.

Tip:

Other institutions offering language courses: WIFI, Volkshochschule, URANIA.

Module 2 (KM2): Study abroad / work placement abroad

A study abroad or a work placement abroad offers an excellent opportunity to deepen and extend your subject knowledge and language fluency. You will not only get a new perspective on your own subject of study, you will also improve your intercultural skills. Study semesters and work placements (minimum 2 months) spent abroad can be counted towards the ISC.

Required proof:
* Confirmation of Stay
* Experience Report KM2 (template at the end of this page)

Tip:

The International Relations Office is happy to advise you about these opportunities and on financing a stay abroad.

Module 3 (KM3): Intercultural courses

This module encompasses lectures on intercultural competence of at least 2 ECTS within your studies. Both compulsory subjects as well as elective and optional subjects count towards the qualification. At least two intercultural courses have to be completed to be counted towards the ISC:

Option 1: Two courses of the International Relations Office Here you can find courses of the International Relations Office within the intercultural focus R.U.D.I.

Option 2: One course at the International Relations Office AND another intercultural course at the degree program or at a partner institution respectively

Required proof:
* Transcript of Records or Confirmation of Participation
* Experience Report KM3 (template at the end of this page)

Module 4 (KM4): Intercultural and social involvement

You can also gain international experience here at FH JOANNEUM! There are many opportunities at FH JOANNEUM to become involved in an intercultural environment (Internationalisation @ home). One such possibility is the Buddy Programme. “Buddies” are FH students who help exchange students by providing advice and support while serving as cultural mediators. Another opportunity for intercultural involvement is active participation in the Tandem programme. Involvement in an international student organisation (e.g. AIESEC, IAESTE or ESN) also count towards the ISC.

Option 1: Intercultural and social involvement at the FH JOANNEUM
For example:
* Tandem Programme
* Volunteer work at the International Relations Office
* TWOgether Mentorship Program
* and many more

Option 2: Intercultural and social involvement at another organization
For example:
* öh joanneum (Austrian students' union at FH JOANNEUM)
* Lebenshilfe
* ESN
* AIESEC
* IAESTE

Required proof:
* Confirmation of Participation
* Experience Report KM4 (template at the end of this page)

Application for the Intercultural Skills Certificate

Services

Intercultural Skills Certificate

 
Outgoing Studierende 4

An der FH JOANNEUM bieten wir Studierenden während ihres Studiums viele Möglichkeiten, sich interkulturelle Kompetenzen anzueignen. Mit dem ISC erhalten Sie ein Zertifikat, das Ihre im Laufe des Studiums erworbenen interkulturellen und sprachlichen Fertigkeiten nachweist und Ihnen eine zusätzliche Qualifikation bescheinigt.

Höchste Zeit Ihre interkulturellen Fähigkeiten unter Beweis zu stellen! Interkulturelle Kompetenz und interkulturelles Wissen stellen vermehrt Schlüsselqualifikationen für das spätere Berufsleben dar. Interkulturelle Kompetenz bedeutet, sich souverän in verschiedenen Umgebungen bewegen zu können, integrativ zu denken und sich auch in der Rolle des „Fremdseins“ sicher zu fühlen. Darüber hinaus schließt sie gute Fremdsprachenkenntnisse, eine gute Beobachtungsgabe sowie Aufgeschlossenheit für Menschen mit verschiedensten kulturellen Hintergründen ein.

Wie komme ich zu meinem ISC?

Um das ISC der FH JOANNEUM zu erhalten, müssen Sie (Austausch)StudierendeR der FH JOANNEUM sein und vier Kompetenzbereiche (KM1-KM4) nachweisen. Die vier Kompetenzmodule repräsentieren unterschiedliche Fertigkeiten im interkulturellen Kontext und sollen während des Studiums an der FH JOANNEUM absolviert werden. Da die Absolvierung aller Kompetenzmodule mehrere Semester in Anspruch nehmen kann, ist es ratsam, bereits zu Studienbeginn sich mit den Kriterien auseinanderzusetzen. Eine Checkliste befindet sich am Ende der Seite.

Das ISC kann mittels Online-Formular beantragt werden und wird innerhalb von zwei Wochen von der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen ausgestellt.

Die Kompetenzmodule im Überblick:

Kompetenzmodul 1 (KM1): Sprachkompetenzen

Sprachkenntnisse sind im Zeitalter der Globalisierung sowohl im Studium als auch für das spätere Berufsleben eine unverzichtbare Zusatzqualifikation. Studierende haben im KM1 die Möglichkeit, zwischen zwei Varianten zu wählen: Entweder sie beherrschen zwei Fremdsprachen auf einem guten Niveau oder drei Fremdsprachen, wobei zwei davon auf einem niedrigeren Level beherrscht werden können:

Variante 1: Zwei Fremdsprachen (mind. C1, B2)

Variante 2: Drei Fremdsprachen (mind. C1, A2, A2)

Infos zu den Niveaustufen A1-C2: Gemeinsamer Europäischer Referenzrahmen für Sprachen

Nachweis:
* Sprachzertifikat / Bestätigung

Gültige Nachweise:
* International gültige Sprachzertifikate (z. B. TOEFL, IELTS), nicht älter als drei Jahre
* OLS Nachweise bei Erasmus-Studierenden
* Bestätigung durch FH Lehrende
* Bestätigung des Internationalen Sprachzentrums

Die FH JOANNEUM bietet zahlreiche Sprachkurse an, für Studierende nicht deutscher Muttersprache auch Kurse im Bereich Deutsch als Fremdsprache (DaF). Das aktuelle Kursprogramm finden Sie hier.

Tipp:

Sprachkurse können Sie auch an folgenden Isntitutionen belegen: WIFI, Volkshochschule, URANIA.

Kompetenzmodul 2 (KM2): Studium / Praktikum im Ausland

Ein Studium oder ein Praktikum im Ausland bietet die ausgezeichnete Möglichkeit, Ihre fachlichen und sprachlichen Kenntnisse zu vertiefen und zu erweitern. Sie lernen nicht nur Ihr Studienfach aus einer anderen Perspektive kennen, sondern verbessern auch Ihre interkulturellen Fähigkeiten. Für das ISC können studienbezogene Auslandsaufenthalte (mindestens 2 Monate) angerechnet werden.

Nachweise: * Aufenthaltsbestätigung
* Erfahrungsbericht KM3 (Leitfragen am Ende der Seite)

Tipp:

Die Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen berät Sie gerne zu den Möglichkeiten und zur Finanzierung eines Auslandsaufenthalts.

Kompetenzmodul 3 (KM3): Interkulturelle Lehrveranstaltungen

In dieses Modul fallen Lehrveranstaltungen zu interkultureller Kompetenz im Ausmaß von mindestens 2 ECTS im Rahmen des Studiums, wobei sowohl Pflichtfächer als auch Wahlpflicht- und Freifächer angerechnet werden können. Für die Anrechnung für KM3 müssen zwei interkulturelle Lehrveranstaltungen absolviert werden:

Variante 1: Zwei Lehrveranstaltungen der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen

Lehrveranstaltungen von der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen (INT) im Rahmen des interkulturellen Schwerpunkts R.U.D.I

Variante 2: eine Lehrveranstaltung der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen UND eine interkulturelle Lehrveranstaltung am STG ODER eine interkulturelle LV an einer Partneruni

Nachweise:
* Transcript of Records oder Teilnahmebestätigung
* Erfahrungsbericht KM3 (Leitfragen am Ende der Seite)

Kompetenzmodul 4 (KM4): Interkulturelles und soziales Engagement

Sie können auch direkt vor Ort internationale Erfahrungen sammeln! An der FH JOANNEUM gibt es zahlreiche Möglichkeiten sich in einem interkulturellen Umfeld zu engagieren (Internationalization @ home). Eine Möglichkeit ist etwa das Buddy Programm. „Buddies“ sind FH-Studierende, die Austausch-Studierenden mit Rat und Tat zur Seite stehen und sich sich als kulturelle MittlerInnen engagieren. Eine weitere Möglichkeit des interkulturellen Engagements ist die aktive Teilnahme am Tandem Programm. Auch das Engagement bei einer internationalen studentischen Organisation (z. B. bei AIESEC, IAESTE oder ESN) kann für das ISC angerechnet werden.

Variante 1: Interkulturelles Engagement an der FHJ
Zum Beispiel:
* Tandemprogramm
* Freiwillige Mitarbeit im INT-Office

Variante 2: Interkulturelles Engagement außerhalb der FHJ
Zum Beispiel:
* ESN (z.B. als Buddy)
* AIESEC
* IAESTE

Nachweise:
* Teilnahmebestätigung
* Erfahrungsbericht KM4 (Leitfragen am Ende der Seite)

Abschließender Reflexionsbericht

Um das ISC zu erhalten, muss nach Absolvierung aller vier Kompetenzmodule ein Reflexionsbericht über die angeeigneten Kompetenzen geschrieben werden (Leitfragen am Ende der Seite).

Anmeldung