Industrial Design 3
Department of Media & Design

Industrial Design

 

Design is playing an ever more important role in modern society and therefore this course offers a wide range of career opportunities. This master degree programme offers practical preparation for the increasing demands placed by the industry on the designers of the future.

What you will learn:

Design projects

During the master course, you will be able to build on your knowledge in the fields of advanced design, interface and usability. Your projects will require the combination of design, technical, presentation and craft skills which will be taught in practical and creative lessons.

Product vs transportation design

Both fields complement one another: product design emphasises technical and functional problem solving while transportation design places a focus on the emotive and aesthetic qualities of the product language.

Virtual modelling

Product developments are strongly linked with computer-generated 2D and 3D presentation. This Master‘s course provides specialist knowledge in the field of computer-aided surfacing, i.e. hand-made design models (e.g. clay models) are scanned in 3D and translated into a virtual model for further design steps.

Business expertise

Whether as a start-up design office or manager of a design department, business expertise is critical to career success. For this reason, the master programme provides an integrated body of knowledge in the fields of business management, marketing, corporate management and innovation management.

Guest professors

The master projects will be supervised by renowned guest professors (including from Audi, BMW and MINI DESIGN). Cooperative projects are the only way of bringing together the visionary ideas of the students and the experience of competent partners from the world of industry.

Team work

Industrial design projects are very comprehensive and usually involve working in groups of two to four students. The design process can be divided into intensive stages of work which result in a presentation model and numerous 2D and 3D depictions. Team-working skills and commitment – an important skill in your subsequent professional life – also form part of the tasks.

Did you know, …

… that some challenging design activities await you?

Graduates of the master course work as employees at various design studios such as KISKA in Salzburg and forpeople in London or the design and development departments of various companies such as Apple, Audi, KTM, Nokia and Philips. Many of our graduates have also ventured into self-employment and now run their own design studio.

Did you know, …

… that we cooperate closely with the business world?

A network of cooperation partners enables us to work in close contact with industrial companies in Austria and Germany. Ongoing development and adaptation of the curriculum guarantees practical training with exceptional job prospects. Internships abroad can be seen as an important springboard, as demonstrated by our successful graduates working for companies like Apple, VW, BMW etc.

Industrial Design 2

Did you know, …

… that we will present your draft designs in public?

At the end of the summer semester, we organise a comprehensive exhibition of selected draft designs and master projects, making the ideas and concepts produced by students accessible to a broad audience. We have already used the Kunsthaus Graz (Designforum) and MuseumsQuartier Wien (design austria) as event locations.

Did you know, …

… that you will complete the course with a professional master project?

The crowning conclusion and highlight of your design course is a successful master project. Our professional university staff offer support and practical input in the fields of research, design and 3D modelling. When it comes to creating presentation models, the model building team lend a hand with high quality tools such as a CNC milling machine, 3D printer and clay modelling facilities.

Did you know, …

… that you will cooperate with companies to complete your master project?

You’ll establish contact with potential cooperation partners during your internship. Recently students have completed some interesting projects with Porsche Design in Zell am See, BMW Motorrad in Munich, Audi in Ingolstadt and many others. This enables you to apply the expertise you have learnt in innovative design studies together with professional partners.

Industrial Design 2
Department für Medien & Design

Industrial Design

 

Design spielt in modernen Gesellschaften eine immer zentralere Rolle, sodass diese Ausbildung vielfältige Berufschancen bietet. Das Master-Studium bereitet Sie praxisnah auf die gestiegenen beruflichen Anforderungen vor, die von der Industrie und von Designbüros an zukünftige Designerinnen und Designern gestellt werden.

Das erwartet Sie im Studium:

Design-Projektarbeiten

Im Studium erwerben Sie erweiterte Kompetenzen in den Bereichen Advanced Design, Interface und Usability. Die Projektarbeiten erfordern eine Vernetzung von gestalterischen, technischen, darstellerischen und handwerklichen Kenntnissen, die Sie im praxisnahen und kreativen Unterricht erwerben.

Produkt- versus Transportation-Design

Im Produkt-Design spielen die technisch-funktionalen Problemlösungen die Hauptrolle und im Transportation-Design geht es um die emotional-ästhetischen Qualitäten der Produktsprache.

Virtual Modelling

Produktentwicklungen sind eng mit der Erstellung von computergenerierten 2D- und 3D-Darstellungen verbunden. Die Spezialisierung im Master-Studium erfolgt im Bereich „Computer Aided Surfacing“, das heißt von Hand erstellte Designmodelle – zum Beispiel Clay-Modelle – werden 3D-gescannt und liefern die Vorlage zur weiteren Bearbeitung am virtuellen Modell.

Wirtschaftskompetenz

Ob als Startup-Designbüro oder Leiter einer Design-Abteilung, wirtschaftliche Kompetenz ist entscheidend für den beruflichen Erfolg. Daher bieten wir ein gebündeltes Wissen aus Betriebswirtschaft, Marketing, Unternehmensführung sowie Innovationsmanagement.

Gastprofessoren

Die Projektarbeiten werden durch Gastprofessoren betreut (zuletzt von Audi, BMW und MINI DESIGN). Hierbei bieten Kooperationsprojekte die Möglichkeit, die visionären Ideen der Studierenden mit der Erfahrung kompetenter Partner aus der Industrie zusammenzubringen.

Teamarbeit

Industrial Design-Projekte sind sehr umfangreich. Hier wird in der Regel in Gruppen mit zwei bis vier Studierenden gearbeitet. Der Designprozess gliedert sich in intensive Arbeitsschritte, an dessen Ende ein Präsentationsmodell sowie unzählige 2D- und 3D-Darstellungen stehen. Teamfähigkeit und Engagement, wichtige Anforderungen auch im späteren Berufsleben, sind Teil der Aufgabenstellung.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass anspruchsvolle Design-Aufgaben auf Sie warten?

Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Master-Studiums arbeiten angestellt in Design-Studios, zum Beispiel bei KISKA in Salzburg oder forpeople in London und Design- oder Entwicklungsabteilungen von Unternehmen, wie Apple, Audi, KTM, Nokia und Philips. Auch beim Sprung in die Selbstständigkeit im eigenen Design-Studio konnten bereits viele Erfolge erzielen.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass wir eng mit der Wirtschaft kooperieren?

Der enge Kontakt mit der Industrie bietet uns ein Netzwerk an Kooperationspartnern. Die ständige Weiterentwicklung des Curriculums garantiert eine praxisnahe Ausbildung mit ausgezeichneten Jobaussichten. Der Weg ins Ausland kann dabei als Sprungbrett gesehen werden. Erfolgreiche Absolventinnen und Absolventen bei Unternehmen wie Apple, VW, BMW u.v.a. stellen dies unter Beweis.

Industrial Design 2

Wussten Sie, …

… dass wir die Design-Entwürfe öffentlich präsentieren?

Am Ende des Sommersemesters veranstalten wir eine umfangreiche Werkschau ausgesuchter Design-Entwürfe und Master-Arbeiten. So werden die Ideen und Konzepte der Studierenden einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugängig gemacht. Als Veranstaltungsorte konnten wir bereits das Kunsthaus Graz (Designforum) sowie das Museumsquartier Wien (design austria) bespielen.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass Sie mit einer professionellen Master-Arbeit abschließen?

Der krönende Abschluss und zugleich Höhepunkt eines Designstudiums zeigt sich in einer gelungenen Master-Arbeit. Hier bieten wir professionelle Unterstützung in den Bereichen Research, Entwurf und 3D- Modellierung. Bei der Umsetzung des Präsentationsmodells hilft das Modellbauteam mit hochwertigen Werkzeugen wie CNC-Fräse, 3D-Drucker und Clay-Modellierung.

Wussten Sie, …

… dass Sie die Master-Arbeit in Kooperation mit Unternehmen durchführen?

Bereits im Berufspraktikum ergeben sich Kontakte zu potenziellen Kooperationspartnern. Zuletzt entstanden sehr interessante Master-Arbeiten mit Porsche Design in Zell am See, BMW Motorrad in München, Audi in Ingolstadt und vielen anderen. Ein Weg sein erlerntes Wissen mit professionellen Partnern in innovativen Design-Studien umzusetzen.

Weitere Stories