Fields of Expertise

Web Literacy

 

Research activities at the Institute of Journalism and Public Relations focus on online communication and its prerequisite – web literacy. We explore digital communication processes, journalism, PR and social media, and develop prototypical content strategies for organisations.

This research field covers application-related topics in journalism, PR and online communications. For this research we are able to draw on our extensive experience gained from implementing countless projects. We use a wide range of methods, from qualitative research to network analyses, from surveys to digital methods. The focus on empirical social science, the leading discipline, is particularly strong, and is supplemented by new research disciplines such as internet research. We also cooperate with development partners from the field of engineering.

We provide innovative services to business partners who approach us with specific problems and the expectation that we will find solutions. They usually take the form of joint projects in which we are responsible for undertaking the relevant design and communication tasks.

One outcome of the Web Literacy Lab project is a series of guidelines for sound and professional content strategies on the web. They create the basis for generating content; from empirically identifying the needs of the target groups through to advanced training for the employees involved.

Forschungsschwerpunkt

Web Literacy

 

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte am Institut Journalismus und Public Relations liegen auf Online-Kommunikation und deren Voraussetzung – Web Literacy. Wir erforschen digitale Kommunikationsprozesse, Journalismus, PR und Social Media und entwickeln prototypische Content-Strategien für Organisationen.

Im Forschungsbereich beschäftigen wir uns mit anwendungsorientierten Fragen in Journalismus, PR und Online-Kommunikation. Dabei können wir auf langjährige Erfahrung in der Durchführung zahlreicher Projekte aufbauen.

Methodisch sind wir breit aufgestellt – von qualitativer Forschung bis hin zu Netzwerkanalysen, von Umfragen bis hin zu digitalen Methoden. Als Leitdisziplin ist die empirische Sozialwissenschaft besonders präsent, ergänzt durch neue Forschungsdisziplinen, wie zum Beispiel Internetforschung. Gerne kooperieren wir mit Entwicklungspartnern aus technischen Disziplinen. Innovative Dienstleistungen werden mit Unternehmenspartnern, die sich mit spezifischen Fragestellungen und Lösungserwartungen an uns wenden, umgesetzt. Es handelt sich hier meist um Projektarbeiten, in denen wir einschlägige Konzeptions- und Kommunikationsaufgaben übernehmen.

Aus dem Projekt Web Literacy Lab heraus entwickelt wurden auch Leitlinien für fundierte und professionelle Content-Strategien im Web. Dabei geht es um die Schaffung der Voraussetzungen für die Erzeugung von Inhalten: von der empirischen Identifikation der Bedürfnisse der Zielgruppen bis zur Weiterbildung der verantwortlichen MitarbeiterInnen.