Research

AIRlabs Austria

Aeronautical Innovation & Research Laboratories Austria

 
AIRlabs Austria 5

FH JOANNEUM, together with recognised partners from science, industry and the service sector, has launched a project to establish and operate test and trial sites for unpiloted aerial systems (UAS) in Austria.

The infrastructure project focuses on establishing a test environment covering all development stages from simulation to actual flight tests in public airspace. The project is funded under the "Take off" programme of the Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology (BMVIT) and the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG).

The five-year infrastructure project aims to establish and operate a nationwide Austrian innovation lab bringing together all key stakeholders, i.e. users, industrial enterprises and research institutions, in a consortium led by FH JOANNEUM. Current and future requirements in the research, development and validation of unpiloted aerial systems (UAS) will be addressed in a sustainable way.

The tests will be based on a multisite concept and involve various drone applications such as flight dynamic characteristics under challenging weather conditions in the alpine area, urban flight operations, as well as the monitoring of critical infrastructures such as energy networks.

The consortium

The project consortium includes partners from science, industry and the service sector in order to provide the best possible support for the innovative developments of the Austrian UAS community together with the aviation authorities (BMVIT, ACG, BMLV).

The goals

  • Broad consortium operating the test sites with cash and in-kind contributions from the stakeholders involved
  • Multisite concept including various sites for different applications in Austria
  • Involvement of all interested stakeholders as consortium partners or strategic partners
  • State-of-the-art tests aimed at solving current and future research questions including
    • Beyond Visual Line Of Sight (BVLOS) drone applications,
    • Urban Air Mobility (UAM) and
    • UAS defence
  • Short lead times, adequate costs and customised solutions
  • Objective consortium management by independent institutions, not profit oriented

The 24 AIRlabs Austria partners use synergies and contribute a range of expertise:

  • FH JOANNEUM GmbH (consortium leader)
  • AIT, Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH
  • Drone Rescue Systems GmbH
  • FACC Operations GmbH
  • Frequentis AG
  • RIEGL Laser Measurement Systems GmbH
  • Schiebel Elektronische Geräte GmbH
  • twins GmbH
  • Graz University of Technology (TU Graz)
  • University of Klagenfurt (AAU)
  • Carinthia University of Applied Sciences (CUAS)
  • Lakeside Labs GmbH
  • RTA, Rail Tec Arsenal Fahrzeugversuchsanlage GmbH
  • APB Corporation GmbH
  • A1 Telekom Austria AG
  • BLADESCAPE Airborne Services GmbH
  • ENERGIE KOMPASS GMBH
  • Holding Graz‐Kommunale Dienstleistungen GmbH incl. Graz Airport, Citycom
  • Kärntner Flughafen Betriebsgesellschaft mbH
  • Kärntner Betriebsansiedlungs‐ und Beteiligungsgesellschaft m.b.H. (BABEG)
  • Nokia Solutions & Networks Österreich GmbH
  • niceshops GmbH
  • Österreichische Post AG
  • World‐Direct eBusiness solutions Gesellschaft m.b.H.

Multisite concept

A multisite concept involving several specialised sites will be established in Austria in order to cover all technology readiness levels (TRL) along the development and value chain. The concept meets the full range of requirements for different applications: it extends from indoor and laboratory tests to extensive sites for large unpiloted aerial systems and urban air mobility through to airspace integration tests. The project partners may also provide individual services, technical and infrastructure equipment and expertise in the form of in-kind contributions.

AIRlabs stage model

A seven-stage model will be used to achieve the project goals, from research and development to validation and integration. The first two steps will focus on basic research, e.g. in the form of simulations for special application areas such as an indoor flight facility or a climatic wind tunnel. Steps three and four are designed for validation in small and large airspace. In steps five and six, the solutions are then integrated in different applications, including urban flight operations and monitoring of critical infrastructures such as energy networks. Step seven is finally aimed at deployment in real-world airspace.

Benefits

  • The consortium partners support the establishment and operation of the innovation lab by providing financial and in-kind contributions. They actively participate in determining the focus and utilisation of AIRlabs Austria and share responsibilities in running the consortium and the test sites.
  • Integration of existing special infrastructure such as airports, test environments etc.

Forschung

AIRlabs Austria

Aeronautical Innovation & Research Laboratories Austria

 
AIRlabs Austria 5

Gemeinsam mit namhaften Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Industrie und Bedarfsträgern startet die FH JOANNEUM den Aufbau und Betrieb von Test- und Erprobungsgebieten für unbemannte Luftfahrzeugsysteme in Österreich. Im Fokus des Infrastrukturvorhabens steht eine Testumgebung, die sämtliche Entwicklungsstufen von der Simulation bis zu tatsächlichen Flugversuchen im öffentlichen Luftraum umfasst. Gefördert wird das Vorhaben im Luftfahrtprogramm „Take off“ des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie (BMVIT) sowie der Österreichischen Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG).

Ziel des fünfjährigen Infrastrukturvorhabens ist der Aufbau und Betrieb eines österreichweiten Innovationslabors, das alle Schlüssel-Stakeholder, bestehend aus Anwenderinnen, Anwendern, Industrieunternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen im Konsortium, unter der Führung der FH JOANNEUM eint. Aktuelle und zukünftige Anforderungen in der Erforschung, Entwicklung und Validierung von unbemannten Luftfahrtsystemen (UAS) sollen nachhaltig adressiert werden.

Ausgehend von einem Multisite-Konzept werden verschiedene Drohnenanwendungen wie flugdynamische Eigenschaften bei herausfordernden Wetterbedingungen im alpinen Bereich, der Flugbetrieb in Städten, aber auch die Überwachung kritischer Infrastrukturen, zum Beispiel von Energienetzen, getestet.

Das Konsortium

Das Betreiberkonsortium vereint Partner aus Wissenschaft, Industrie und Bedarfsträgern, um mit den Luftfahrtbehörden (BMVIT, ACG, BMLV) die innovativen Entwicklungen der österreichischen UAS-Community bestmöglich zu unterstützen.

Die Ziele

  • Breites Konsortium als Träger der Testgebiete mit Cash- und In-kind-Beiträgen der beteiligten Stakeholder
  • Multisite-Konzept mit mehreren Standorten in Österreich für unterschiedliche Anwendungen
  • Einbindung aller interessierten Stakeholder als Konsortialpartner oder als strategische Partner
  • State-of-the-Art-Tests zu aktuellen und zukünftigen Forschungsfragen wie beispielsweise
    • „Beyond Visual Line Of Sight (BVLOS)“-Drohneneinsätze,
    • Urban Air Mobility (UAM) und
    • UAS-Abwehr
  • Kurze Vorlaufzeiten, angemessene Kosten und maßgeschneiderte Lösungen
  • Objektive Konsortialführung durch unabhängige Einrichtungen, nicht gewinnorientiert

Die 24 Partner des AIRlabs Austria nutzen Synergien und bringen eine Breite an Kompetenzen ein:

  • FH JOANNEUM GmbH (Konsortialführer)
  • AIT, Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH
  • Drone Rescue Systems GmbH
  • FACC Operations GmbH
  • Frequentis AG
  • RIEGL Laser Measurement Systems GmbH
  • Schiebel Elektronische Geräte GmbH
  • twins GmbH
  • Technische Universität Graz
  • AAU, Alpen‐Adria‐Universität Klagenfurt
  • Fachhochschule Kärnten ‐ gemeinnützige Privatstiftung
  • Lakeside Labs GmbH
  • RTA, Rail Tec Arsenal Fahrzeugversuchsanlage GmbH
  • APB Corporation GmbH
  • A1 Telekom Austria AG
  • BLADESCAPE Airborne Services GmbH
  • ENERGIE KOMPASS GMBH
  • Holding Graz‐Kommunale Dienstleistungen GmbH inkl. Flughafen Graz, Citycom
  • Kärntner Flughafen Betriebsgesellschaft mbH
  • Kärntner Betriebsansiedlungs‐ und Beteiligungsgesellschaft m.b.H. (BABEG)
  • Nokia Solutions & Networks Österreich GmbH
  • niceshops GmbH
  • Österreichische Post AG
  • World‐Direct eBusiness solutions Gesellschaft m.b.H.

Multisite-Konzept

Um alle technologischen Reifegrade nach dem Technology Readiness Level (TRL) entlang der Entwicklungs- und Wertschöpfungskette abzubilden, wird ein Multisite-Konzept an mehreren spezialisierten Standorten in Österreich aufgebaut. Dadurch können unterschiedliche Projektpartner ihre Anforderungen an verschiedene Regionen in Österreich abdecken: Das Spektrum reicht von Indoor- und Labortests über ausgedehnte Gebiete für große unbemannte Luftfahrtsysteme und urbane Luftmobilität bis hin zu Luftraum-Integrationstests. Ebenso können individuelle Beiträge, Equipment aus Technik und Infrastruktur sowie Kompetenzen als In-kind-Leistungen eingebracht werden.

AIRlabs Stufenmodell

Von der Forschung und Entwicklung über die Validierung bis hin zur Integration: Zur Erfüllung der Projektziele kommt ein Stufenmodell zum Einsatz, das auf sieben Abschnitten basiert. In den ersten beiden Stufen findet Grundlagenforschung, etwa in Form von Simulationen in speziellen Anwendungsgebieten wie einer Indoor-Flughalle und einem Klimawindkanal statt. In Stufe drei und vier wird die Validierung in kleinen und großen Lufträumen vorgenommen. Die Integration erfolgt von Stufe fünf bis sechs in verschiedenen Einsatzumgebungen, darunter Flugbetrieb in Städten und Überwachung kritischer Infrastrukturen wie Energienetze. Die Stufe sieben beinhaltet auch den Einsatz in realen Lufträumen.

alt

Benefits

  • Konsortialpartner beteiligen sich finanziell und in Form von In-kind-Leistungen am Aufbau und Betrieb des Innovationslabors. Sie gestalten die Ausrichtung beziehungsweise Nutzung von AIRlabs Austria maßgeblich mit und betreiben das Konsortium sowie alle Gebiete in Österreich mit entsprechender Aufgabenteilung.
  • Einbindung bestehender Spezialinfrastruktur wie Flugplätze, Testumgebungen usw.