Project

Web Literacy Lab

 

The Web Literacy Lab project, funded by The Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) in the COIN Framework, is a scientific study of web communication options for companies and organisations. As a result of the project, a permanent research unit was established at the Institute of Journalism and Public Relations. This study in addition provided the basis for the first competence centre for content strategy in the German speaking countries and the Master's programme in Content Strategy at FH JOANNEUM.

Which scientifically validated measures do organisations use to offer "useful and usable content" (Kristina Halvorson) on the web and on other platforms? – The Web Literacy Lab team at FH JOANNEUM looked into this question for the development of websites, both in terms of data services and social media communication.

Competence models, web communication and training

The analysis of how users interact with and through web content based on qualitative and quantitative methods from social science allows the development of strategies that improve the quality of content.

The focus of the individual research and consulting projects was as follows:

  • Competence models for companies/organisations and their employees;
  • organisation of web communication in companies and organisations, and
  • teaching of web-based media competencies in training courses and workshops.
Further activities as part of the Content Strategy programme

In all three areas, the Web Literacy Lab team at the Institute of Journalism and PR closely collaborated with ZML – Innovative Learning Scenarios (formerly: "Centre for Multimedia Learning") at FH JOANNEUM. The issues that were raised as part of the Web Literacy Lab project as well as the project's findings were discussed at conferences and workshops, and they will be looked at in more detail as part of the Master's programme in Content Strategy, which was launched in 2014.

Continuing research at the Institute of Journalisms and Public Relations

From the project activities, the independent research focus Web Literacy was established, which in now anchored permanently in the research unit Web Literacy Lab at the Institute of Journalism and Public Relations.

Projekt

Web Literacy Lab

 

Das von der FFG im Rahmen der COIN-Schiene geförderte Projekt Web Literacy Lab beschäftigte sich auf wissenschaftlicher Basis mit den Chancen der Webkommunikation für Unternehmen und Organisationen. Im Rahmen des Projekts wurde eine dauerhafte Forschungseinheit am Institut Journalismus und Public Relations etabliert. Daraus gingen außerdem das erste Kompetenzzentrum für Content-Strategie im deutschsprachigen Raum sowie der Masterstudiengang „Content-Strategie / Content Strategy“ an der FH JOANNEUM hervor.

Durch welche wissenschaftlich abgesicherte Maßnahmen gelingt es Organisationen, im Web und auf anderen Plattformen „nützlichen und nutzbaren Inhalt“ (Kristina Halvorson) anzubieten? – Das Team des Web Literacy Lab an der FH JOANNEUM verfolgte diese Frage bei der Entwicklung von Websites, in Bezug auf Datenangebote und in Bezug auf Social-Media-Kommunikation.

Kompetenzmodelle, Webkommunikation und Trainings

Die Analyse, wie Nutzerinnen und Nutzer mit Web-Inhalten und über Inhalte interagieren, mündete auf Basis qualitativer und quantitativer sozialwissenschaftlicher Methoden in Strategien, wie sich die Qualität von Content erhöhen lässt.

Im Zentrum der einzelnen Forschungs- und Beratungsprojekte standen:

  • Kompetenzmodelle für Unternehmen/Organisationen und deren MitarbeiterInnen,
  • die Organisation von Webkommunikation in Unternehmen und Organisationen, und
  • die Vermittlung von webbezogenen Medienkompetenzen im Rahmen von Trainings und Workshops.
Weitere Aktivitäten am Studiengang Content Strategy / Content-Strategie

In allen drei oben angeführten Forschungsbereichen hat das Team des Web Literacy Lab am Institut Journalismus und PR eng mit dem ZML – Innovative Lernszenarien (ursprünglich: „Zentrum für Multimediales Lernen“) an der FH JOANNEUM zusammengearbeitet. Die im Projekt Web Literarcy Lab aufgeworfenen Fragen und Erkenntnisse wurden im Rahmen von Tagungen und Workshops thematisiert, und sie werden im Zuge des 2014 gestarteten Masterstudiengangs „Content-Strategie / Content Strategy“ weiter verfolgt und intensiviert.

Weiterforschen am Institut Journalismus und Public Relations

Aus den Projektaktivitäten konnte sich der eigenständige Forschungsschwerpunkt Web Literacy etablieren, der in der gleichnamigen Forschungseinheit Web Literacy Lab nun dauerhaft am Institut Journalismus und Public Relations verankert wurde.