Institute of

International Management

 
International Management 4

“For us, everything revolves around people: our students, lecturers and researchers. Our networks enable us to provide our students with knowledge and competence to tackle the challenges of business life. The Institute of International Management enables knowledge transfer between theory and practice. We collaborate with a wide range of international partners and have established a close network with companies and educational institutions around the world, especially from South America, Southeast Asia and the Balkan States.”

Head of Institute Doris Kiendl

The Institute of International Management is part of the Department of Management at FH JOANNEUM. The “Triple I” approach – International, Innovation, Industries – is vital for the success of the Department. Research-led teaching (Innovation) and the pooled expertise of four institutes are combined with a comprehensive management concept: tapping potentials in the management of organisations across all sectors (Industries).

The Institute has key expertise in International Business Strategies and Processes. Activities in this context include projects on topics such as internationalisation, market entries and international entrepreneurship with a special focus on small and medium-sized enterprises.

Another field of expertise is Quality-Oriented Higher Education Development in an International Context, where the research team focuses on the topics of employability and quality in tertiary education. The focus is on analysing what skills and competences are needed by employers in an international comparison and how the universities can provide their students with these crucial skills.

Collaboration opportunities

  • Collaboration with partners in research contracts or funded research projects
  • Exploration of research questions as part of Bachelor’s and Master’s theses

Services

  • Competence-based curriculum development and quality management of educational institutions
  • Implementation of cross-culturing learning projects
  • Customised market entry studies for companies
  • Strategic concepts for companies in international competition
Degree programmes and postgraduate courses
Study programmes for Incoming Students
FIBAA PREMIUM

The Bachelor's degree programme in International Management and the Master's degree porgramme in Business in Emerging Markets are FIBAA PREMIUM accredited since 2016.

Institut

International Management

 
International Management 4

„Bei uns stehen die Menschen im Mittelpunkt: Unsere Studierenden, Vortragenden, Forscherinnen und Forscher. Durch unsere Netzwerke vermitteln wir unseren Studierenden Wissen und Kompetenzen, um die Herausforderungen des Wirtschaftslebens zu meistern. Das Institut International Management ermöglicht den Wissenstransfer zwischen Theorie und Praxis. Dabei arbeiten wir mit einer Vielzahl von internationalen Partnern zusammen und stehen in einem regen Austausch mit Wirtschafts- und Bildungsinstitutionen aus aller Welt, insbesondere auch aus Südamerika, Südostasien und den Balkanstaaten.“

Institutsleiterin Doris Kiendl

Das Institut International Management gehört zum Department Management der FH JOANNEUM. Das Triple I – International, Innovation, Industries – steht für den Erfolg des Departements. Die forschungsgeleitete Lehre (Innovation) und die Kompetenzen von vier Instituten wird mit dem Rahmenkonzept Management verbunden: dem Heben von Potenzialen beim Führen von Organisationen in allen Branchen (Industries).

Seine zentralen Forschungsfelder sieht das Institut einerseits in internationalen Geschäftsstrategien und -prozessen: Es werden beispielsweise Projekte zu Themenen wie Internationalisierung, Markteintritte und internationales Entrepreneurship mit besonderem Fokus auf kleine und mittlere Unternehmen durchgeführt.

Andererseits beschäftigt sich das Forschungsteam des Instituts im Schwerpunt qualitätsorientierten Hochschulentwicklung im internationalen Umfeld mit dem Themen Employability und Qualität in der Hochschulbildung. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Frage, welche Fähigkeiten und Kompetenzen im internationalen Vergleich von Arbeitgebern nachgefragt werden und wie Hochschulen ihren Studierenden diese Fähigkeiten und Kompetenzen am besten vermitteln können.

Kooperationsmöglichkeiten

  • Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern im Zuge von freifinanzierten oder geförderten Forschungsprojekten
  • Abhandlung von Forschungsthemen im Rahmen von Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten

Leistungen

  • kompetenzbasierte Curriculumsentwicklung und Qualitätsmanagement von Bildungseinrichtungen
  • Umsetzung von Projekten zum Thema „Cross Cultural Learning“
  • maßgeschneiderte Markteintrittsstudien für Unternehmen
  • strategische Konzepte für Unternehmen im internationalen Wettbewerb
Programmakkreditierung gemäß den international anerkannten Qualitätsanforderungen der FIBAA

Die Studiengängen „Management internationaler Geschäftsprozesse“ und „Business in Emerging Markets“ erhielten das FIBAA-Premium-Siegel. Die FIBAA ist eine europäische, international ausgerichtete Agentur für Qualitätssicherung und Qualitätsentwicklung in der wissenschaftlichen Bildung.